Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Exercise, Health, and Sport Sciences. 

Last update: Sep 08th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/sportsmedicine  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Indexes and Databases            Print Page
  
 

Why use a database?

Browsing through journals - whether online or in print - is an inefficient way to find articles on a specific topic. A database that indexes many journals lets you identify relevant articles much more quickly, and most USM Libraries databases include a tool called Article Linker that helps you check for local availability of the articles you want.

 
 

Online Indexes and Databases

These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications. Once you have found your citations, consult Finding Articles at USM for detailed instructions on locating full text articles online and in print journals.

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides full text for 550 scholarly journals and indexing for more than 570 journals.

Ingenta Connect
Index to the tables of contents of 17,000 English language periodicals from 1988 to the present.

MEDLINE
Index to more than 3,600 journals covering all areas of clinical and experimental medicine, nursing, and health administration.

Physical Education Index
Broad subject headings index 150 domestic and foreign journals. The most recent editions are softcover. Check several years as the annual editions are not cumulative.

SPORTDiscus
Subjects include biomechanics, coaching, engineering, physical therapy, and physiology. Indexes over 2,000 journals as well as books, theses, and non-print resources.

 

 

Article Linker

Use Article Linker to find needed articles

  • Click Finding Full Text Faster adjacent to database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
  • If article not available online or in print, click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
  • If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
  • You will receive a link to the article by e-mail in 3-5 working days.
  • Please do not use interlibrary loan to request articles from print journals that the library already owns, unless they are located at another USM campus from the one where you are based.


For detailed Finding Full Text Faster instructions, review the Linker Tutorial.

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageLanny Lumbert
Contact Info:
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
207.780.4670
Send Email

Subject Librarian

Profile ImagePat Prieto
Contact Info:
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
207.780.5662
Send Email

Subjects:
Criminology, ESL, Honors Program, Linguistics, Nursing, Recreation & Leisure Studies, Social Work, Sociology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait