Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

History Information Sampler  Tags: history  

This guide will provide you with information and links to commonly used history sources.
Last update: Aug 17th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/content.php?pid=13552  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Need a Summary?            Print Page
  
 

Maps (Atlases)

Historical atlases help you understand geography and its significance in history.

Shepherd's Historical Atlas
GOR. Reference G 1030 .S4
POR. Reference G 1030 .S4

Atlas of American History
GOR. Reference G 1201 .S1 J3
POR. Reference G 1201 .S1 J3

The Times Atlas of American History
GOR. Atlas Case G 1030 .T54
POR. Atlas Case G 1030 .T54

 

Chronologies

Who Was When?
GOR. Reference CT 103 .D4
POR. Reference CT 103 .D4

Chronology of the Modern World
GOR. Reference D11.5 .W5
POR. Reference D11.5 .W5

Chronology of the United States
POR. Reference E 174.5 .C63

The Timetables of History: A Horizontal Linkage of People and Events
GOR. Reference D11 .G78

Chronology of World History: A Calendar of Principal Events from 3000 B.C. to 1976 A.D.
GOR. Reference D11 .F75

 

Primary Sources

Documents of American History
GOR. Reference E173 .C66
POR. Reference E173 .C66
Contains the major primary documents (Constitution, Declaration of Independence, and many others), all together in a single book.

Historic Documents of (year)
GOR. Reference E839.5 .H57
POR. Reference E839.5 .H57 

Annals of American History
This online index provides access to thousands of source documents in U.S. history.

 
 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dictionary of American History
GOR. Reference E 174 .D52
POR. Reference E 174 .D52

The Oxford Companion to American History
POR. Reference E 174 .J6

The Reader's Companion to American History
POR. Reference E 174. R43

An Encyclopedia of World History
GOR. Reference D21 .L27
POR. Reference D21 .L27

 

Bibliographies

Useful as organized listings of books, articles, etc.

American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
GOR. Reference D 20 .A45
POR. Reference D 20 .A45

Harvard Guide to American History Revised
GOR. Reference Z 1236 .H27
POR. Reference Z 1236 .H27 

 

Biographical Sources

Succinct information about a person's life and historical significance.

American National Biography
GOR. Reference CT 213 .A68
POR. Reference CT 213 .A68

Dictionary of American Biography
GOR. Reference E 176 .D563
POR. Reference E 176 .D563

Dictionary of National Biography (British)
GOR. Reference DA28 .D47
POR. Reference DA28 .D47

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
GOR. Reference Z 5305 .U5 B47
POR. Reference Z 5305 .U5 B47

Who Was Who in America
GOR. Reference E 176 .W64
POR. Reference E 176 .W64

Who Was Who (British)
GOR. Reference DA28 .W65
POR. Reference DA28 .W65

 

Book Reviews

 

Information to help you find significant authors and works:

Book Index with Reviews has information on over 4 million book titles (including audiobooks), around 700,000 music and DVD/video titles, citations to millions of reviews in peer-reviewed journals and popular magazines, and links to 800,000 full-text reviews.

Book Review Digest
GOR. Reference Z 1219 .C96
POR. Reference Z 1219 .C96

Book Review Index
GOR. Reference Z1035 .A1 B6
POR. Reference Z1035 .A1 B6

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait