Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

History Information Sampler  Tags: history  

This guide will provide you with information and links to commonly used history sources.
Last update: Aug 17th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/content.php?pid=13552  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles            Print Page
  
 

Online Indexes and Databases

These databases will help you locate articles (mostly) on history topics. If you are off campus you'll be asked for your last name and USM picture ID "bar code" (which begins with 25022).

Historical Abstracts
(covering 1450 A.D. to the present). An index to history topics for all the world except the U.S. and Canada.

America: History & Life
An index covering all aspects of US and Canadian history.

Digital Dissertations
Index to dissertations from 1861 to the present, representing the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. Includes the 350-word abstracts written by the author for those dissertations published after 1979.

ProQuest Newspapers
An index to approximately the past decade of news articles. Numerous prominent newspapers are indexed, among those, the New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Wall Street Journal, and the Los Angeles Times.

Academic Search Premier
A general purpose index useful for finding current articles on almost any subject. To access this system you'll be prompted to type in your name and library bar code number, if you are working on an off campus computer.

Worldwide Poltical Science Abstracts
This database supplies citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law and public administration/policy.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
A collection of documentary projects pertaining to women and social movements in the United States. Primary source materials include books, images, manuscripts, journal articles, phamplets, letters, commentaries and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. This database has been made available through USM Faculty Technology Grant awards to the History and Women's Studies programs.

ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) provides education information for K-12 teachers, school administrators, education faculty, school psychologists and education students. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. This bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations goes back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (from years 1993-2004) are included in the database. Full-text articles are also available from more than 80% of the 1,000 education-related journals indexed.

 

Your Friend in the Library

Profile ImageZip Kellogg
Contact Info:
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
(207) 780-4272
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Accounting, Business, Economics, Maine

 

IM or Talk with a Person!

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait