Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

History Information Sampler  Tags: history  

This guide will provide you with information and links to commonly used history sources.
Last update: Aug 17th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/content.php?pid=13552  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Writing & Citing            Print Page
  
 
 

Writing the Paper

 A Short Guide to Writing About History (Glickman Library Reference D13 M294), gives superb advice not only for writing about history, but also about doing research and evaluating your sources of information for plausibility and trustworthiness. Furthermore, it gives excellent examples of documenting your sources, compiling bibliographies, and even a sample term paper. This book will prove invaluable in acquainting you with methods of doing research and makes an excellent companion to the work you'll be doing in the library.

 

Other Writing Handbooks

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
POR Reference BF76.7 .P83
GOR Reference BF76.7 .P83
LEW Reserve BF76.7 .P83

St. Martin's Handbook
POR Reference PE1112 .L86
LEW Reference PE1112. L86
Contains sections on the writing process, sentence construction, punctuation, doing research, and academic writing.

A Writer's Reference
GOR Reference PE1408 .H2778
POR Reference PE1408 .H2778
LEW Reference PE1408 .H2778
Includes sections on composing and revising, design, sentence structure, grammar, punctuation, writing, and documentation.

 

Endnote

USM has a site license for Endnote, a personal reference database program. The main functions of this program include maintenance of a database of references, downloading references from other databases, using the database to link to references in word-processed documents, and generating a bibliography in the correct style for publications. See the Introduction to Endnote for further information.

 

Citation Styles

Citing Sources (MLA) (Indiana University)

MLA (University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th edition
(GOR Ref. LB2369 .G53 2003)

Online! A Reference Guide Using Internet Resources

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
(GOR Ref. BF76.7 .P83 2001)

Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format (Purdue University Online Writing Center)

 

Plagarism

In using resources it is important that they be used both ethically and legally. The sources listed here provide assistance in following acceptable academic protocol.

STUDENT ACADEMIC INTEGRITY POLICY
The academic community of the University of Southern Maine recognizes that adherence to high principles of academic integrity is vital to the academic function of the University.

Plagiarism (Indiana University)

 

Your Friend in the Library

Profile ImageZip Kellogg
Contact Info:
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
(207) 780-4272
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Accounting, Business, Economics, Maine

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait