Article LinkerDatabase TutorialsEvidence-Based DatabasesGeneral Database Use TipsHealth/Nursing/Medical DatabasesLocate EB Articles-CINAHL/MEDLINE/PUBMED
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

NURSING 

Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/nursing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Health/Nursing/Medical Databases             Print Page
  
 

Health Databases

HEALTH/NURSING/MEDICAL and RELATED DATABASES

Database Contents Locate Subject Headings (Thesaurus) Terms Locate Research Articles Locate Peer Reviewed Articles

CINAHL1982+ (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

Updated weekly

All aspects of nursing and allied health in over 1,835 journals, doctoral dissertations, selected nursing books, educational software, and audiovisuals. Also includes publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. A first source for finding articles on nursing topics.

CLICK

Consider Explode if a term option

 

CLICK

Check:

CLICK

Check:

Health Source,
Nursing/Academic
Edition

Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
CLICK

In Find box, Type: (research or study or studies). Add to other terms.

CLICK

Check:

 

MEDLINE 1966+ Updated daily

Published by the National Library of Medicine. Covers over 4,800 journals, and includes all areas of clinical and experimental medicine, nursing, health administration, health care system and other health fields. Use for locating articles on medical topics such as diseases, medical treatments & therapies, surgical procedures and drugs.

CLICK

Consider Explode if a term option

CLICK

Type: research. Click box adjacent to term. Select Explode. Note: If too few results, delete research terms from search statement. Type (research or study or studies)

Peer review option not available. Most research articles will be in peer-reviewed journals

PsycINFO 1887+
Updated weekly

Covers information in nearly 2,000 journals about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, nursing, sociology, education, and other areas. Excellent for topics like health behavior, health attitudes and mental health.

CLICK

Consider Explode if a term option

CLICK

Type: research. Select experimentation. Note: If too few results, delete experimentation from search statement. Type (research or study or studies)

CLICK

Check:

SPORTDiscus 1887+
Updated monthly

Covers all aspects of sports including biomechanics, coaching, fitness, physical therapy, physiology, and recreation.

CLICK

Consider Explode if a term option

 

In Find box, Type: (research or study or studies). Add to other terms.

CLICK

Check:

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImagePat Prieto
Contact Info:
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
207.780.5662
Send Email

Subjects:
Criminology, ESL, Honors Program, Linguistics, Nursing, Recreation & Leisure Studies, Social Work, Sociology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait