Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Children's & Adolescent Literature 

The following is a list of basic resources that will help you in the study of Children's/ Adolescent Literature. This guide is not meant to be complete so please your instructor or Tim Lynch for more information!
Last update: Aug 31st, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/childrensliterature  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research             Print Page
  
 

How to use our catalog

The USM Catalog is not just for USM. It includes all the University of Maine Institutions and gives access to public and private universities through the MaineCat link. Search the catalog using Keywords, Titles or an author or click Advanced Search and gain access to much more specific searching!

 

 

What are Databases?

"Databases" is a quick way to describe any online application where you enter a search. There are databases for books (Our Catalog URSUS) and databases for Journal articles. I've picked out some to the right ---> There are many other databases as well. Google is a search engine but it is also a database of websites. You might guess it's important to know what you are looking for Books? Articles? Websites? etc. before you start looking! You would be right! Ask me I can help!!

 
 

Library Catalog (URSUS)

Are you looking for Books to supplement your article information??


 

Databases

The following Databases are useful to Children's & Adolescent Literature. Note these are not the only databases available to use, just the recommended. Click the little blue circles for more information! Remember to contact Tim Lynch with questions!

ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER: Scholarly journals on all aspects of Children's Literature.

ERIC: Education database is a giant not only in size but also in worth. There are many articles devoted to the literature of children.

HUMANITIES INTERNATIONAL  INDEX: This humanities database presents "scholarly and creative" journals from the US and Canada, starting from 1975.(AMI)

Maine InfoNET: This database allows access to books in the public libraries and private colleges around Maine

MAS ULTRA--SCHOOL EDITION: Popular journals on the topic of Children's Literature

MasterFILE PREMIERE: Scholarly journals on all aspects of Children's Literature.

MIDDLE SEARCH PLUS: 150 popular magazines for middle school students.

MLA International Bibliography: This database looks at Children's Literature from a more academic view and individual works as contributing to literature as a whole.

PRIMARY SEARCH: 60 popular Children's Literature journals

URSUS: The online catalog of the University of Maine System. It will allow one to look up books and other materials from the 15 libraries that make up the University of Maine Libraries System.

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageTim Lynch
Contact Info:
The Commons@Gorham Library
(207) 780-5156 Office
(207) 780-5344 Info Desk
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography/Anthropology, Geosciences, Human Resource Development, Technology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait