Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Children's & Adolescent Literature 

The following is a list of basic resources that will help you in the study of Children's/ Adolescent Literature. This guide is not meant to be complete so please your instructor or Tim Lynch for more information!
Last update: Aug 31st, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/childrensliterature  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

Using the Internet

There is no authority control for the Internet. In choosing Internet resources it is imperative to evaluate the authenticity of the source. Thinking Critically about Discipline-Based World Wide Web Resources (UCLA College Library) provides excellent evaluation criteria. The following selected resources have been chosen because of authenticity and comprehensiveness of coverage.

 
 

Useful Sites

ALA ALSC
Site is from the Association for Library Service to Children, at the American Library Association. Provides much discussion of children's book awards and conferences and workshops devoted to steering the library community and taking the lead in analysis and recognition of childrens books.

International Reading Association
Children's Books and much more!!!

CCBC (Cooperative Children's Book Center--School of Education--University of Wisconsin
Although this collection is noncirculating, the CCBC has provided several research guides that may be of interest.

Children's Book Council
This website is features selected authors, books and other fun promotional events. Although it is non-profit, site seems to be vendor driven.

Children's Lit Association
This is a good site for academic study of Children's Literature. Site offers conferences, call for papers, publications and links from a research point-of-view.

Database of Award-winning Children's Literature
This database site allows informational access to 4000 books chosen by 50 different children's awards. Allows searching by readership, keyword or subject.

Fairrosa Cyber Library
An interesting site with lots of full-text of books, fairy-tales and even some discussion. Site is searchable.

Gay and Lesbian Characters and Themes in Children's Books.
Annotated Bibliography by child's age group.

Oyate (Native American Books Reviewed)
Children's Literature from a Native American Perspective. Information, "books to avoid," reviews and catalog from Oyate publishing.

Plains Reading Council
A very welcoming site filled with many excellent links to Children's literature pages and Children's pages in general.

Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators
This is another great site to gain access to the academic and publishing world of Children's Literature. Provided are Discussion Lists, Conference Information, Excellent Links by subject, more.

University of Minnesota Libraries. Research Guides: Fairy Tales
This wonderful pathfinder from the University of Minnesota has a myriad of resources on fairy tales and folklore.

What You Need to Know About: Children's Books
This site is a catch-all dealing with new releases, writers comments, how-tos, awards, links, etc.

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageTim Lynch
Contact Info:
The Commons@Gorham Library
(207) 780-5156 Office
(207) 780-5344 Info Desk
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography/Anthropology, Geosciences, Human Resource Development, Technology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait