Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

FRS 197: Information Power Unleashed 

Course information and sources useful for the successful completion of FRS 197.
Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/FRS197  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Oct. 6             Print Page
  
 

Assignment

Email me 5 articles from Academic Search Premier on YOUR TOPIC for this class. Each article MUST include the citation in MLA style format. You are free to use Opposing Viewpoints or CQ Researcher, too. Do not use any other databases. You will have that opportunity next week.

 
 

Class 6

 Finding Articles-

  • What is a database?
  • Magazines vs. Journals
  • Multi-disciplinary vs. subject-specific databases
  • Finding journals by title - see Find Articles by Title
  • Finding articles using: Academic Search Premier, CQ Researcher, and Opposing Viewpoints 

 

See your assignment to the left and do your weekly

Reference questions.

 
 

Did You Know...

Most of the databases provided by the USM Libraries are paid for either in cooperation with Orono or on our own. These databases range in price from $1,000 to $30,000 per year per database. Your student fees go in part toward the purchase of these databases which contain articles from thousands of specialized sources (scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedia, and far more) that will never be available from the Internet.

When you search for information on the Internet first, without first searching the library resources, you are bypassing the best source you have paid for and going to a very questionable source that many instructors will not accept.

As a librarian my salary is paid in part by your student tution, as well, so ask the librarians for help. We are here to help you.

 

Assignment

Scholarly vs Popular Periodicals (Vanderbilt University)

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait