Introduction
This guide provides the means to find testing information, reviews, as well as actual tests. Important texts such as Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print will be very useful to the student looking for reviews. Some tests and information about tests are available in Databases, while information about older tests are only available in print sources. Good luck finding your information and please contact your instructor or myself for more information. Thanks!
Print Reference Titles
Mental Measurements Yearbook (Also available ONLINE from the USM Libraries Databases) Note: the Buros Search Website has very up-to-date information on Mental Measurement Tests Reviews. Coverage is from Ninth Edition to the Present.
GOR and POR Reference Z5814 P8 B932
You may hear this source referred to simply as "Buros" in reference to
Oscar Buros, the original editor, and founder of the Institute of
Mental Measurements. This highly regarded resource for locating
critical reviews of test instruments has been in print since 1938. USM has all print versions of Mental Measurement Yearbook from 1938 to 2005. Each
new volume supplements rather than supercedes the previous volume. Test
entries include: title, intended population, author and publisher,
acronym, scoring, availability, cost, critical reviews and cross
references to reviews in earlier editions. Check out our Tutorial.
Tests in Print VI: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests (Also available ONLINE from USM Libraries Databases)
GOR Reference Z5814 E9 T47 1967-2002
This source provides descriptive listings of and references to
commercially published tests currently in print. Each new edition of Tests in Print supercedes the earlier edition. However, Tests in Print I-VI
are retained under the same call number for individuals requiring
information on tests that may no longer be in print. This title also
serves as a comprehensive index to the Mental Measurements Yearbooks published to date. Check out our Tutorial.
Test Critiques
GOR Reference BF 176 T419 1984+ (Latest available 1994)
An ongoing, easy to use resource. Each test entry contains the
following sections: introduction, practical applications/use, technical
aspects, critique and references. The index in the most recent volume
references the entire set.
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
GOR Reference BF 431 G624 (1974-1997).
This is an ongoing series of books which lists experimental test instruments that are not currently marketed commercially. This directory allows researchers to identify recently developed and potentially useful measures in education, psychology and sociology. Instruments are not evaluated, but sources for obtaining technical information are provided.
Dictionary of Behavioral Assessment Techniques
GOR Reference BF 176.5 D53 1988
A reference guide to a wide variety of assessment devices used by
behavioral researchers and clinicians. Test entries provide:
description, purpose, psychometric characteristics, clinical use,
future directions and references.
Test-Specific References
Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences 2nd Ed
GOR Reference LB 3051 .L4543 2000
Provides both information about and examples from tests in the Social Sciences.
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques: Instruments & Index [3 vols.]
GOR Reference HQ 728 .H267 2001 v.1-3
Provides the actual Instrument for this topical area.
Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook
GOR Reference BF 176 .C66 2000
Volume 1: Couples, Families and Children. Volume 2: Adults. These
volumes provide over 320 "rapid assessment instruments" including
questionnaires and scales, which assess problems commonly encountered
in clinical practice. Critiques written by the authors are also
included.
Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education and Business.
GOR Reference BF 176 T43 1997
Concise descriptions of assessment instruments available from over 221
publishers. The format is user-friendly and the eight different indexes
make it easy to identify test instruments by type and by specific
criteria.
Academic Achievement and Aptitude Testing: Current Practices and Test Reviews
GOR Reference LB 3060.3 .A26 1989
Business and Industry Testing: Current Practices and Test Reviews.
POR Reference HF 5549.5 .E5 .H635 1990
Special Education and Rehabilitation Testing: Current Practices and Test Reviews
GOR Reference LC 4019 .S585 1988
Comprehensive Annotated Bibliography of Selected Psychological Tests
GOR Reference BF 176 .T38 1982
Annotated references from 1967-1979 for the Interpersonal Check List, MMPI Short Forms and The Blacky Pictures.
A Counselor's Guide to Career Assessment Instruments
GOR Reference HF 5381 C6965 2001
Covers all types of test instruments for use in career guidance. Each
entry provides descriptive information followed by a full or abridged
review and references.
Handbook of Psychiatric Rating Scales
GOR Reference RC 469 .H37 1981
Brief descriptive information and related references for scales used to rate adult and child behavior and symptomatology .
Sourcebook of Adult Assessment Strategies
GOR Reference RC 473 .P78 S38 1995
This source provides practical information for over 70 scales used in the assessment of adult mental disorders.
Tests and Measurements in Child Development.
GOR Reference BF 722 .J643
Handbooks 1 & 2 provide brief descriptive information and
references for approximately 1,200 unpublished measures of child
behavior from birth to 18 years of age.
Appraisal Procedures for Counselors and Helping Professionals (4th Edition)
GOR Stacks BF 176 .D78 2000
This work helps professionals choose and administer tests for their
clients, as well as provide a list of often-used tests to choose from.
Essentials of Myers-Briggs Type Indicator Assessment
GOR Stacks BF 698.8 .M94 Q45 2000
Explains how to administer, score and interpret the test, as well as
providing help describing characteristics of clients and therapists who
are characterized by the Myers-Briggs Indicator.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment (3rd Edition)
GOR Stacks BF 176 .G76 1999b
The third edition of the Handbook of Psychological Assessment describes
the work as including "updated systems for evaluating the classic
tests;" "new and revised tests;" and integrating test results into a
treatment plan. (APCHP).
Personality Assessment (3rd. Edition)
GOR Stacks BF 698.4 .L34 1997
"Describes the major methods and techniques of personality assessment,
discuss their underlying rationale and development." (PA).
Testing and Assessment in Counseling Practice
GOR Stacks BF 176 .T423 2000
Work is designed for "healthy, well-functioning clients." (TACP) - Most
chapters deal with a specific test and include information about using
tests, and, the appropriateness of those tests.
Personality Tests and Reviews
POR Reference BF698.5 .B87 1970 (volume 1) and 1975 (volume 2)
"Includes an alphabetical list of test descriptions and names indexes." (B. Mann)
Your Librarian |
Tim LynchThe Commons@Gorham Library
(207) 780-5156 Office
(207) 780-5344 Info Desk
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography/Anthropology, Geosciences, Human Resource Development, Technology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait