CMS 200 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Communication Department 

Last update: Sep 28th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/communication  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Sources            Print Page
  
 

Ask-a-Librarian

CHAT WITH US

 

Using reference sources

 

Reference sources are normally used to obtain quick facts such as definitions, statistics, brief biographies, etc. and they are a great place to get started on your research. For instance, defining unfamiliar terms or exploring different aspects of your topic in a subject-specific encyclopedia may be an effective way to brainstorm for ways to approach your research. These are just a few of the reference resources that could be used in your Communication course research and that are available through the USM libraries.

 
 

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
POR/GOR Reference P87.5 .W38 2000

Dictionary of Media Literacy
POR Reference P91.3 .S527 1997

 

Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Communication NEW - available online
USM Communication Professor, Lenny Shedletsky, is one of the contributors

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
POR Reference P87.5 .E532 2003 [4 vols.]

Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film
POR Reference PN1995.9.D6 E53 2006 [3 vols]

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition: Communication from Ancient Times to the Information Age
POR Reference PN172 .E53 1996

Encyclopedia of Television News available online
POR Reference PN4888 .T4 E53 1999 (print version)

History of the Mass Media in the United States
GOR Reference P92.U5 H54 1998

Mass Media: a Chronological Encyclopedia of Television, Radio, Motion Pictures, Magazines, Newspapers, and Books in the United States
POR Reference P92.U5 H77 1987

Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Television
POR Reference PN1992.18 .E53 1997 [3 vols.]

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
POR Reference P87.5 .E53 2002

 

Bibliographies

Communication Yearbook
POR Stacks P87.C5974 [vols. 1-30]

 

Directories

Bowker's New Media Directory
POR Reference Z6951 .W6 (2004) [3 vols.]

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
POR Reference Z 6951 .A95 (2002) [5 vols.]

 

Miscellaneous

Dictionary of Quotations in Communications
POR Reference P90 D488 1997

Handbook of New Media
POR Reference P96 .T42 2002

Research in Mass Communication: A Practical Guide
POR Reference P91.3 .P64 2000

Penguin Atlas of Media and Information: Key Issues and Global Trends
POR Reference P91 .B29 2001

 

My Profile

Profile ImageBarbara Stebbins
Contact Info:
217 Glickman Library
Portland campus
228-8598
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait