CMS 200 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Communication Department 

Last update: Sep 28th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/communication  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Cite Your Sources            Print Page
  
 

Ask-a-Librarian

CHAT WITH US

 

Citing your sources

Your Communication professors will probably prefer that you cite your sources in MLA or APA style. However, check with your individual professor to find out which citation style he or she would prefer that you use.

 

Using Endnote

USM has a site license for Endnote, a personal reference database program. The main functions of this program include maintenance of a database of references, downloading references from other databases, using the database to link to references in word-processed documents, and generating a bibliography in the correct style for publications. See the Introduction to Endnote for further information.

 
 

Web sites that will assist you with the process...

Citing References in Your Paper: Examples of citations for sources of difference formats for Chicago/Turabian, MLA and APA styles, from the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

Resources and Documentation Online: a Web-based adaptation of Diana Hacker's
Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age (4th ed.) published by Bedford St. Martin's Press.

Son of Citation Machine: after users select a citation style and enter citation information into a form, Son of Citation Machine arranges the information into a citation. Beware: this tool, though useful, is not foolproof. Be sure to proofread citations generated by this site carefully before including them in your bibliography.

Acadia University Interactive Tutorial: You Quote it, You Note it: A fun and informative way to learn about citing sources. Covers when you are required to cite your sources in order to avoid plagiarizing and the basics of creating citations.

 

Books that will assist you with the process...

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
POR & GOR Reference, LEW Reserve BF76.7 .P83

MLA handbook for writers of research papers
POR & GOR Reference, LEW Reserve LB2369 .G53 2003

 

My Profile

Profile ImageBarbara Stebbins
Contact Info:
217 Glickman Library
Portland campus
228-8598
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait