General Indexes & Databases
- Academic Search Premier Scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas.
- America: History & Life Index to research on the history of the United States & Canada.
- Annals of American History Original full-text source documents on United States history.
- Historical Abstracts Index to articles, dissertations, and books on the history of the world, except the United States & Canada.
- JSTOR Three different Arts & Sciences collections.
- Maine Folklife Center & Acadian Archives A catalog of three prominent archival collections on Maine and the Canadian Maritime Provinces.
- Making of America Primary source materials focused on the major journal literature of the period, ranging from general interest publications to those with more targeted audiences (such as agriculture).
- MLA International Bibliography Index to scholarly research in literature, language, linguistics, & folklore.
- Philosopher's Index Indexing & abstracts from books and journals on philosophy & related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World.
- Sociological Abstracts Sociology & related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, & women's studies.
- Women & Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history.
Art Indexes & Databases
- Art Index Bibliographic database, includes English, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, & Swedish periodicals. (1985-present)
- Art Index Retrospective Bibliographic database, includes English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, & Dutch periodicals. (1929-1984)
- Directory of Open Access Journals Free peer-reviewed journals.
- Humanities International Index Citations & abstracts for articles, essays & reviews, original creative works, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings & illustrations.
- National Gallery of Art Information on the collection at the National Gallery of Art (D.C.). Search collection by artist, title, or combination, also lists paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, and works on paper by school.
- Project MUSE Covers the fields of literature & criticism, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, & others.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Index to dissertations from 1861 to the present and more limited coverage of master's theses from 1962. Full text of dissertations written at the U. Maine after 1996.
- ProQuest Newspapers Full text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, & Times of London, and others. Maine papers: Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), business coverage from Maine Times (1994-2002) and Central Maine Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).
Journals
Journals for Art by Subject:
- Architecture (67)
- Arts & Crafts (19)
- Fine Arts - General (34)
- Gardens, Landscape Architecture & Parks (7)
- Visual Arts
Journals for Art by Title (selected list):
- African Arts
Articles on the plastic and graphic arts of Africa, broadly defined to encompass sculpture in wood, metal, ceramic, ivory and stone, and less familiar work in fiber, hide, mud and other materials used in personal adornment and architecture. - Aperture
Journal for photography. - Archives of Asia Art
Devoted to the arts of South, Southeast, Central, and East Asia. - Art in American
Articles on major achievements & events particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints. - Journal of Aesthetics & Art Criticism
Articles on all studies of the arts & related experience from a philosophic, scientific, or other theoretical standpoint, including those of psychology, sociology, anthropology, cultural history, art criticism and education. - Journal of Visiual Culture
Publishes work from a range of methodological positions, various historical moments & across diverse geographical locations. It promotes research, scholarship & critical engagement with visual cultures.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait