Interlibrary Loan / Article Linker
Citation Guide 
Evaluating Websites 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Art  Tags: art photography painting drawing sculpture art_history  

This page is a selective guide to assist Art students. If you would like more assistance, please contact Elizabeth Phipps or your instructor. Thanks!
Last update: Oct 17th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources            Print Page
  

Available Online

  • American Memory  
    American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
  • American Slavery: A Composite Biography  
    Comprised of transcripts of 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states and compiled by the Library of Congress. The collection and the index are now searchable online.
  • Annals of American History  
    Original full-text source documents on United States history.
  • Historical Records Repositories in Maine  
    This directory indicates the name, address and contact information for over 140 historical societies, museums, libraries and other organizations holding historical records.
  • National Union Catalog of Manuscripts  
    The NUCMC is a free of charge cooperative cataloging program funded by the Library of Congress.
  • Nazi-Era Provenance Internet Portal  
    To provide a searchable registry of objects in U.S. museum collections that changed hands in Continental Europe during the Nazi era (1933-1945). There are currently 28022 objects from 165 participating museums listed in the Portal.
  • New York Public Library Digital  
    NYPL Digital is a gateway to NYPL unique and rare collections in digitized format. Digitized content has been drawn from a broad range of original historical resources and all historical media are presented as specific, original artifacts, without further enhancement to their appearance or quality, as a record of the era in which they were produced.
  • Repository of Primary Sources  
    Maintained by the University of Idaho, Special Collections & Archives it contains a listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
  • Women & Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000  
    A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history.
 

Internet sites for Primary Sources

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography -
Comprised of transcripts of 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states and compiled by the Library of Congress. The collection and the index are now searchable online.

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections -
The NUCMC is a free of charge cooperative cataloging program funded by the Library of Congress.

New York Public Library Digital -
NYPL Digital is a gateway to NYPL unique and rare collections in digitized format. Digitized content has been drawn from a broad range of original historical resources and all historical media are presented as specific, original artifacts, without further enhancement to their appearance or quality, as a record of the era in which they were produced.

Repositories of Primary Sources -
Maintained by the University of Idaho, Special Collections & Archives it contains a listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

Historical Records Repositories in Maine -
This directory indicates the name, address and contact information for over 140 historical societies, museums, libraries and other organizations holding historical records.

Women & Social Movements in the United States 1600 - 2000

A collection of documentary projects pertaining to women and social movements in the United States. Primary source materials include books, images, manuscripts, journal articles, pamphlets, letters, commentaries and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities.

 
 

Shel Silverstein

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait