Research & Writing
- Art History Writing Guide Wesleyan University site provides guidance on research, analysis, and writing an art history paper.
- Smithsonian: Researching Your Art An excellent place to begin researching.
- Writing the Art History Paper Dartmouth College advice on researching, analyzing, and writing for art history.
Art & Artists
- Art Conservation University of Delaware's links to art conservation.
- Art History Resources on the Web Sweet Briar College Art History Professor's site has extensive information and links to art history; countries; prints; photography; museums; and research materials.
- Finding Images on the Web Boston University's links to wide variety of images.
- Getty Art Museum The Los Angeles Museum site provides access to its art collection; as well as access to the Research Institute and Conservation Institute and links from these sites.
- Google Images Includes vast number of images of art work.
- International Directory of Art LIbraries Access to art library websites world-wide.
- Library of Congress: American Memory Visual images of art, history, and architecture spanning American history.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art Educational Resources Online Comprehensive list of links including: art history, architecture, conservation, and museums.
- Metropolitan Museum Timeline of Art History Extensive annotated timeline with links to works.
- Mother of All Art & Art History Links University of Michigan site with art history resources, images, museums, and on-line art exhibits.
- National Gallery of Art: Artists & Works of Art Information about selected artists and their work.
- Perseus Digital Library Tufts University's Classics website.
- Portland Museum of Art Search collection.
- Robert Venn Carr Jr. Online Collection University of Maine Museum of Art - Digital photographs of 300 pieces of the Modern Art Collection.
- Smithsonian Institution Encyclopedia Smithsonian: Art & Design
- Virtual Library Museum Pages European based site has links to museums world-wide which provide additional links.
- Web Museum: Artist Index Brief artist biographies.
- World Art Treasures JE Berger Foundation's site includes 100,000 slides of famous art pieces with biography and links to additional information.
Critical Analysis
Use these steps to evaluate your sources:
1. Initial Appraisal
- Author: Credentials? Institutional affiliation?
- Date of Publication: Current? Edition or Revision?
- Publisher: University Press? Journal or Magazine?
2. Content Analysis
- Intended Audience: Student Level? Professionals?
- Objective Reasoning: Fact or Opinion? Evidence? Objective?
- Coverage: Marginally or extensively related? Primary or secondary source?
- Style: Word choice? Organized argument?
- Reviews: Cross reference?
and you?
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait