Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Government Documents  Tags: government_publications statistics maine  

Federal and state sources for information.
Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/govdocs  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Maine State Resources             Print Page
  
 

Maine Online Resources

Maine.gov - Official website of the State of Maine

Local Government - County, city and town information for Maine

Maine State Law and Legislative Research Library - serves the public interest by providing legal and governmental information services to the people of Maine, their government and the legal community.

Maine State Library - serving all citizens and visitors, provides access to its information, services, and policies in order to meet educational, informational, recreational and cultural needs.

Maine State Archives - a bureau within the Department of Secretary of State, maintains approximately 95 million pages of official State records considered to be permanently valuable.

 

 
 

Maine State Documents in the USM Libraries

Search for Maine State Documents in the library catalog:

Advanced Search

Where Are State Of Maine Documents?

Most State of Maine documents are located in a separate collection on the second floor of Glickman Library on the Portland campus. Education- and geology-related material are located on the first floor of the Gorham campus library, near the Reference Desk.

What Do The Collections Contain?

The Maine State Depository System distributes publications from most State agencies, including the State Legislature. The collection is comprised of annual reports, handbooks, rules & regulations, statistical reports, periodicals, special studies, etc.

How Do I Know If There Are Documents On My Topic?

URSUS (ursus.maine.edu), the catalog of the University of Maine System libraries, includes State of Maine documents held by USM. Look for URSUS locations Por Maine Doc and Gor Maine Doc. To the right of the location is the call number where the document can be found in the collection.

Can The Documents Be Checked Out Of The Library?

Yes, regular loan policies apply to Maine documents.

How Can I Get Additional Help?

Ask for help by clicking on Ask A Librarian or by phone: at Portland (780-4272) or Gorham (780-5344)


 
 

State of Maine

The seal of the State shall be a shield, argent, charged with a pine tree (americana, quinis ex uno folliculo setis) with a moose (cervus alces), at the foot of it, recumbent; supporters: on dexter side, a husbandman, resting on a scythe; on sinister side, a seaman, resting on an anchor.

In the foreground, representing sea and land, and under the shield, shall be the name of the State in large Roman capitals, to wit: 

MAINE. 

The whole shall be surrounded by a crest, the North Star. The motto, in small Roman capitals, shall be in a label interposed between the shield and crest, viz.: -- DIRIGO. 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait