Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Government Documents  Tags: government_publications statistics maine  

Federal and state sources for information.
Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/govdocs  Print Guide  RSS Updates

USM Depository Facts             Print Page
  
 

Maine Depositories

Libraries collecting Maine documents:

Ladd Library
Bates College
Lewiston
Contact: Sandra Groleau
sgroleau@bates.edu
(207) 786-6271

Hawthorne-Longfellow Library
Bowdoin College
Brunswick
Contact: Penny Schroeder
pschroed@bowdoin.edu
(207) 729-3227

Maine State Law and Legislative Library
Augusta
Contact: Sheila Bearor
sheila.bearor@state.me.us
(207) 287-1600

Miller Library
Colby College
Waterville
Contact: Margaret Menchen
mpmenche@colby.edu
(207) 872-3463

Glickman Library and Gorham Campus Library
University of Southern Maine
Portland & Gorham
Contact: Lanier Lumbert 
lumbert@usm.maine.edu
(207) 780-4270

Maine State Library
Augusta
Contact: Sarah Stanton
sarah.stanton@maine.gov
(207) 287-5600

Portland Public Library
Portland
Contact: Tom Gaffney
gaffney@portland.lib.me.us
(207) 871-1744

Bangor Public Library
Bangor
Contact: Susan Wennrich
bplill@bpl.lib.me.us
(207) 947-8336

Mantor Library
University of Maine at Farmington
(207) 778-7210

Auburn Public Library (partial depository)
Auburn
(207) 782-3191

Blake Library
University of Maine at Fort Kent
Contact: Sofia Birden
sbirden@maine.edu
(207) 834-7527

Merrill Library
University of Maine at Machias
Contact: Jane Lyon
jlyon@maine.edu
(207) 255-1234

Fogler Library
University of Maine (Orono)
Contact: Special Collections Dept.
spc@umit.maine.edu
(207) 581-1687

Library
University of Maine at Presque Isle
Contact: Virginia Fischer
fischer@umpi.maine.edu
(207) 768-9602

 
 

Government Documents at USM

Federal Documents

The University of Southern Maine Libraries participate in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), which was established by the U.S. Congress to provide free public access to government publications. The program is divided into full and selective depositories. As a selective depository, the USM Libraries tailor their collections to local needs, selecting documents which support the academic programs of the University, as well as the information needs of greater Portland and the First U.S. Congressional District of Maine. The Gorham and Portland campus libraries receive documents in the social sciences, humanities and sciences; the University of Maine Law School Library at USM receives publications relating to federal judicial and law making processes. Fogler Library at the University of Maine is one of 53 full (also known as regional) depositories which receive all publications distributed through the FDLP. Federal publications are published in paper, microform and electronic formats. The Internet plays an important role in the FDLP’s distribution of publications; many titles which formerly were distributed in paper format are now available on the Internet.

Detailed look at FDLP selections in the USM Libraries.

URSUS, the online catalog, provides primary access to currently received federal documents in the USM libraries. Documents received prior to 1995 may not be listed in the catalog. Please see a reference librarian for assistance.

State Of Maine Documents

Equally important is the USM Libraries' status as a depository of State of Maine documents. Similar to its federal counterpart, the system distributes material from many State of Maine departments and agencies. This collection is comprised of annual reports, bulletins, periodicals, special studies and more.

URSUS, the online catalog, provides access to Maine State documents holdings in the USM libraries.

All documents, State and Federal, are available to circulate unless otherwise noted.

Questions regarding government information should be directed to Lanier Lumbert, Acquisitions, (207) 780-4270 or lumbert@usm.maine.edu

 

Federal Depositories in Maine

Ladd Library
Bates College
Lewiston
Contact: Sandra Groleau
sgroleau@bates.edu
(207) 786-6271
Bangor Public Library
Bangor
Contact: Susan Wennrich
bplill@bpl.lib.me.us
(207) 947-8336
Hawthorne-Longfellow Library
Bowdoin College
Brunswick
Contact: Virginia Hopcroft
ghopcrof@bowdoin.edu
(207) 729-3227
Nutting Memorial Library
Maine Maritime Academy
Castine
Contact: Caroline Hudson
chudson@mma.edu
(207) 326-2263
Maine State Law and Legislative Library
Augusta
Contact: Stephanie Ralph
stephanie.ralph@state.me.us
(207) 287-1600
Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono
(207) 581-1673
Miller Library
Colby College
Waterville
Contact: Margaret Menchen
mpmenche@colby.edu
(207) 872-3463
Library
University of Maine at Presque Isle
Contact: Virginia Fischer
fischer@polaris.umpi.maine.edu
(207) 768-9594

Maine State Library
Augusta
Contact: Sarah Stanton
sarah.stanton@maine.gov
(207) 287-5600

Garbrecht Law Library
University of Southern Maine
Portland
Contact: Maureen Quinlan
quinlan@usm.maine.edu
(207) 780-4351
Portland Public Library
Portland
Contact: Sandy Shryock
shryock@portland.lib.me.us
(207) 871-1725
Glickman Library and Gorham Campus Library
University of Southern Maine
Portland & Gorham
Contact: Lanier Lumbert 
lumbert@usm.maine.edu
(207) 780-4270
 
 

Access Policies

Free and unrestricted access is made to all Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) sources selected by the Library. Most government documents are located on the 2nd floor of the Portland campus Library near the Reference Collection (1st floor in the Gorham campus Library) and are arranged according to the Superintendent of Documents classification system; others are in the Periodicals Collection (arranged alphabetically by title) or general stacks (arranged by Library of Congress classification system). All documents are available for public use and are handicapped accessible. All documents which are classified as non-reference or which are not shelved in the Serials Collection are free to circulate to library card holders.

Free and unrestricted access is made to all State of Maine documents.  Most state documents are located on the 2nd floor of the Portland campus library near the Reference Collection and on the 1st floor of the Gorham campus library and are arranged according to the Maine Documents Classification System.  Some state documents are shelved in the Periodicals Collection or the general stacks.  All documents are available for public use and are handicapped accessible. All documents which are classified as non-reference or which are not shelved in the Periodicals Collection are free to circulate to library card holders.

Professional level reference assistance is available most hours that the Library is open. Classified staff or students are available for assistance at times when professional assistance is not available.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait