How to use our catalog
The USM Catalog is not just for USM. It includes all the University of Maine Institutions and gives access to public and private universities through the MaineCat link. Search the catalog using Keywords, Titles or an author or click Advanced Search and gain access to much more specific searching!
What are Databases?
"Databases" is a quick way to describe any online application where you enter a search. There are databases for books (Our Catalog URSUS) and databases for Journal articles. I've picked out some to the right ---> There are many other databases as well. Google is a search engine but it is also a database of websites. You might guess it's important to know what you are looking for Books? Articles? Websites? etc. before you start looking! You would be right! Ask me I can help!!
Library Catalog (URSUS)
Databases
Journal/Book/Newspaper/Web Databases
General/All: IngentaConnect, Academic Search Premiere
General/Local: Newspapers (Proquest), Maine Newsstand, PEARL
General Science:Access Science,MathSci Net, Science Accelerator, Science Citation Index
Water Bodies: Oceanic Abstracts Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Energy: Energy Citations Database, OSTI Website (formerly Pubscience)
Statistics: Statistical Abstracts of the United States, Statistical Universe
Water/Soil/Geology/Geography: GeoRef, Geo Ref Preview, GeoBase
Agriculture: CRIS (Current Research Information System)
Citations: Science Citation Index
[Note on Journals]
Discover,
Scientific American, Science News and other quasi-scholarly journals
are, in fact, popular journals, but are usually written by experts in
the field and therefore considered more scholarly.
Newspapers:
Newspapers (Proquest)
abstracts 143 newspapers from across the country and the world.
Newswires are also included. Some regional papers are also in full-text
(Ex. Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune). The Gorham Campus Library has the complete run of the New York Times in microfilm.
Maine Newstand includes selected full-text of the Portland Press Herald and other Maine newspapers for local perspectives on Environmental Science and Policy.
I can't find what I want!
If you can't find a book maybe its not at USM maybe its at Portland Public, try MaineCat
If you can't find an article maybe it's not in full-text online! Does USM have it Try URSUS. If not go to Article linker and Choose Step 3: Interlibrary Loan.
Remember too, If you can't find something always ask for help! :)
Your Librarian |
Tim LynchThe Commons@Gorham Library
(207) 780-5156 Office
(207) 780-5344 Info Desk
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography/Anthropology, Geosciences, Human Resource Development, Technology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait