Before You Begin...
Applied Medical Science crosses several disciplinary lines, which means that a range of databases could be useful. When beginning a search for articles in any subject area it's wise to start with a large, multi-disciplinary database to quickly find basic articles. After that you should move on to more subject-specific databases that index magazines and journals focused entirely on a given field.
Useful Databases
General Science Encyclopedia:
Access Science - Online version of the former McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Multi-Dispilinary Databases:
Academic Search Premier - 1970s - present. Full text of nearly 4,000 scholarly publications of which 3,100 are peer reviewed.
Project Muse - Full-text access to over 220 journals from 37 scholarly publishers.
Subject-Specific Databases:
Web of Knowledge - Contains Biosis Previews and Web of Science.
SciFinder Scholar - online version of Chemical Abstracts, providing citations and abstracts on chemistry and other areas from 1967 to the present.
PubMed - 1966 - present. Provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.
PubMed Central - 1970 - present. Digital archive of life sciences journal literature, developed and managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
ScienceDirect - 1995 - present. A full-text collection of 1,800 journals in science, technology and medicine.
Evidence-Based Databases:
The easiest way to locate evidence-based articles on your topic is to use a periodical database. You may find articles in professional/trade, or scholarly periodicals. Consult scholarly, popular and professional/trade periodicals for information about the distinctions.
CINAHL(Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) 1982+ Updated weekly.
Covers material published in over 1,800 nursing and allied health periodicals. Also includes doctoral dissertations, selected nursing books, educational software, and audiovisuals. An excellent source for locating articles on evidence-based nursing practice.
Medline 1950+ Updated weekly except new records in “Medline In Process” updated daily.
Created by the National Library of Medicine. Covers 4,800 biomedical periodicals in all languages. EBSCO’s Medline also includes OLDMEDLINE (1950-65), Medline in Process, HealthSTAR, and other subsets - AIDS, Bioethics, Biotechnology, and Health Technology.
PsycINFO 1887+ Updated weekly.
Indexes the professional literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, and physiology in over 2,100 periodicals. Includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations. Excellent for nursing and medical topics related to behavior, attitudes and mental health or illness.
PubMed 1950+ Updated daily.
Available free from the National Library of Medicine. Same as Medline except also includes out-of-scope journals such as general science and biology. Includes links to many free full-text articles, but not to paid subscription journals covered by USM’s version of Medline. Clinical filters can be used to limit searches to articles on systematic reviews and meta analysis and to four types of clinical research - diagnosis, etiology, therapy and prognosis.
Article Linker
Use Article Linker to find needed articles
- Click
adjacent to database search results to locate an electronic or print article. - If article not available online or in print, click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
- If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
- You will receive a link to the article by e-mail in 3-5 working days.
- Please do not use interlibrary loan to request articles from print journals that the library already owns, unless they are located at another USM campus from the one where you are based.
For detailed
instructions, review the Linker Tutorial.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait