Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Biology 

This guide is designed to provide access to a host of information resources concerning the field of Biology. Resources provided by USM Libraries is supplemented by Web sources.
Last update: Sep 30th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/biologyusm  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Web Subject Guides

Librarian's Internet Index

RefDesk.com

Virtual Reference Shelf (Library of Congress)

 

 

Article Linker

Use Article Linker to find needed articles

  • Click Finding Full Text Faster adjacent to database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
  • If article not available online or in print, click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
  • If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
  • You will receive a link to the article by e-mail in 3-5 working days.
  • Please do not use interlibrary loan to request articles from print journals that the library already owns, unless they are located at another USM campus from the one where you are based.


For detailed Finding Full Text Faster instructions, review the Linker Tutorial.

 
 

Databases

These databases index magazines and journals in fields related to biology.

Academic Search Premier - 1970s - present. Full text of nearly 4,000 scholarly publications of which 3,100 are peer reviewed.

AccessScience - Former McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts - 1971 - present. No full-text.

BioDigest - No full-text. Abstracts written in a nontechnical style for students and interested nonscientists.

BioMed Central - Peer-reviewed biomedical research

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic - Designed for doctors, research scientists, students, clinical specialists and managers, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.

BIOSIS Previews (Part of Web of Knowledge) - 1990 - present. The premier database in the biological sciences, indexes the literature of the biological and biomedical sciences. Subject coverage includes agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, botany, ecology, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.

Cooperative Forestry Research Unit (University of Maine - Orono) - 1970 - present. focuses on ecology, economics, and growth and management of Maine forests. Contains the full-text of University of Maine's Cooperative Forestry Research Unit's (CFRU) reports as well as other publications resulting from research by CFRU staff and associates.

Environment Complete - Full-text from 400 journals covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. 

Highwire Press - A division of the Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of free, full-text, peer-reviewed content. Some, but not all full-text.

Ingenta Connect - 1988 - present. Tables of contents of 17,000 English language periodicals. Covers all disciplines.

MEDLINE - 1966 - present. 3,600 journals covering all areas of clinical and experimental medicine, nursing, dentistry and health administration.

National Sea Grant Library Database - 1965 - present. 30,000 publications resulting from Sea Grant funded research. Subjects covered include aquaculture, coastal zone management, marine education, and oceanography. Over 11,000 of the documents are available full-text.

Oceanic Abstracts - 1981 - present. Journal articles, conference papers, books, and reports covering the marine and brackish-water environment. Topics covered include biological, chemical, and physical oceanography, ecology, geochemistry, geophysics, marine biology, and marine geology. Indexes over 500 journals.

PubMed - 1966 - present. Provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.

PubMed Central - 1970 - present. Digital archive of life sciences journal literature, developed and managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Science Citation Index, Expanded - 2000 - present. 5,800 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Science Direct - 1995 - present. A full-text collection of 1,800 journals in science, technology, and medicine.

SciFinder Scholar - Covers literature (including patents) on all branches of chemistry, as well as related fields. Includes data from Chemical Abstracts and the MEDLINE database. Search options include keyword, CAS Registry number, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and more.

TOXNET - Cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes TOXLINE, Hazardous Substances Data Bank, ChemIDplus chemical information database, and other resources.

Web of Knowledge - Cross searching for Web of Science (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index), Biosis Previews, and a number of external free databases (including PubMed, Agricola, ERIC, NTIS, POPLINE, Civil Engineering Database, NASA Astrophysics Datasystem, and arXiv). ISI Web of Knowledge provides links to the ISI tools Journal Citation Reports, Citation Alerts, and EndNote Web, as well as selected free resources.

Web of Science - Provides access to the Science Citation Index® (1900 to present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™ (1975-present). Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide - 1935 - present. 345,000 citations to the literature on mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians found in journals, conference proceedings, monographs, theses and dissertations, and government reports.

 

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait