Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Criminology 

Resources for Criminology Research
Last update: Aug 21st, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/criminology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  
 

Article Linker

Use Article Linker to check the availability of articles you find in USM databases

  • Click Finding Full Text Faster adjacent to database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
  • If article not available online or in print, click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
  • If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
  • You will receive a link to the article by e-mail in 3-5 working days.
  • Please do not use interlibrary loan to request articles from print journals that the library already owns, unless they are located at another USM campus from the one where you are based.


For detailed Finding Full Text Faster instructions, review the Article Linker Tutorial.

 
 

Online Indexes and Databases

These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications. Once you have found your citations, consult Finding Articles at USM for detailed instructions on locating full text articles online and in print journals.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal justice policies, theories, programs and administration. Primarily a domestic focus but has numerous international topics too.

NCJRS Document Data Base
Abstracts and full text of criminal justice books, journal articles, and reports published by the U.S. Department of Justice, other local, state, and federal government agencies, international organizations, and the private sector.

Academic Search Premier
A multi-subject index that provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications of which 3,100 are peer reviewed. Academic areas of study include: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly. Dates of Coverage: 1987 - current.

ERIC - Education
Primary index for the field of education. Useful for topics relating to school social work, as well as issues that may present themselves in a school setting.

HeinOnline
A searchable collection of full text articles from nearly 370 academic legal periodicals.

IngentaConnect
A multi-subject index

LegalTrac
An index to law journals, available only at the Law School Library (go to the 3rd floor of the Law School building for reference assistance)

ProQuest Newspapers
Indexes articles from the last 5-15 years (dates vary) of many important U.S. newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal/Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Full text is available for most titles.

PsycINFO
The primary index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language.

Social Work Abstracts Plus
An index to the social work literature, with good coverage of topics such as child abuse and domestic violence.

Sociological Abstracts
The primary index for sociology and related disciplines including criminology, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Comprehensive and international in scope. Covers about 2,600 journals in 30 different languages from 55 different countries. Also includes books, conference papers,and doctoral dissertations.

Women's Studies International
Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations in women's studies, including material from the fields of economics, education, public policy, and sociology. Coverage from 1972 to the present.

 

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImagePat Prieto
Contact Info:
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
207.780.5662
Send Email

Subjects:
Criminology, ESL, Honors Program, Linguistics, Nursing, Recreation & Leisure Studies, Social Work, Sociology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait