Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Social Work 

Subject guide for Social Work
Last update: Sep 01st, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/socialwork  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Internet Resources            Print Page
  
 

If you must Google, do so responsibly

 

Use the advanced search: it lets you limit your searches by domain names,allowing you to choose to avoid commercial sites, choose sites from a specific country, or retrieve only sites from non-profit organizations, for example. Cutting down the huge numbers of items you retrieve will save you time!

Use Google Scholar if you want only scholarly writings. Many, though not all, of these will have been published in journals or books, not just on the Internet.

Never pay for an article online without talking to us first!  One of the downsides of using Google is that you may think you have to buy an article that's available through the USM libraries.  When in doubt, check with the library staff.

 
 

Internet Resources

Since there is no authority control for the Internet, it is important to evaluate sources critically. For helpful criteria, consult our Checklist for Evaluating Web Resources.

America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being
Published by the Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this report presents 38 key indicators in the areas of family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.

The Association of Social Work Boards
The Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) provides "information on the legal regulation of social work" throughout the U.S. and Canada, including state level information, and information on licensing exam schedules and preparation.

Child Abuse and Neglect Digital Library
canDL is a "database of citations of works related to the National Data Archive of Child Abuse and Neglect at Cornell University and to secondary research. It is a changing source that we have decided to share it in its current state, and will be progressively adding citations."

National Association of Social Workers
Provides news items of interest to social workers, membership information, full text of Practice Standards, and more.

National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices
The the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration has created this database of interventions "to help people, agencies, and organizations implement programs and practices in their communities".

USM School of Social Work
The School of Social Work's website offers program descriptions, a faculty/staff directory, student handbooks, and more.

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImagePat Prieto
Contact Info:
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
207.780.5662
Send Email

Subjects:
Criminology, ESL, Honors Program, Linguistics, Nursing, Recreation & Leisure Studies, Social Work, Sociology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait