If
you must Google, do so responsibly
Use the advanced search: it lets you limit your searches by domain names,allowing
you to choose to avoid commercial sites, choose sites from a specific country,
or retrieve only sites from non-profit organizations, for example. Cutting down
the huge numbers of items you retrieve will save you time!
Use Google Scholar if you want only scholarly writings. Many, though not all,
of these will have been published in journals or books, not just on the
Internet.
Never pay for an article online
without talking to us first!
One of the downsides of using Google is that you may think you have to buy an
article that's available through the USM libraries. When in doubt, check
with the library staff.
Internet Resources
Abstracts of American Studies Dissertations 1986 - 2000:
Information is arranged alphabetically by author and is based on details sumitted to the American Studies Association by American Studies Graduate Programs.
American Memory:
American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source
materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site
offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical
collections.
Archives of American Art:
The Archives of American Art provides researchers with
access to the largest collection of documents on the history of the visual arts
in the United States. The collection totals more than thirteen million items.
Cultural Maps In American Studies:
This is an online historical atlas, providing links to
several map collections, digitized resources; the collection at the University
of Georgia’s Hargrett Library stands out.
Maine Memory Network:
The Maine Memory Network (MMN), a project of the Maine
Historical Society (MHS), is a statewide cultural database of important
documents relating to Maine’s history. The database is comprised of
photographs, documents, artwork and artifacts contributed by Maine’s cultural
institutions
Subject Guide |
Casandra FitzherbertCasandra Fitzherbert
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
Portland, Maine 04103
207.780.4279
Send Email
Subjects:
American & New England Studies, English, Computer Science, Mathematics & Statistics
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait