Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

American & New England Studies 

The American New England Studies guide is available to help you get started on your research.
Last update: Aug 31st, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/ANES  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources            Print Page
  
 

Local Sources

Maine Historical Society:
A growing museum, incomparable library and statewide educational resource, located in the heart of Portland’s downtown cultural district. Founded in 1822, the Maine Historical Society is the third oldest state historical society in the United States.

Special Collections at the University of Southern Maine:
Special Collections is comprised of three units: Rare Books & Manucripts, University Archives and the Jean Byers Sampson Center for Diversity. 

Osher Map Library & Smith Center for Cartographic Education:
The Osher Map Library and Smith Center for Cartographic Education is the only separately established rare map library in northern New England.

 

 
 

Internet sites for Primary Sources

 More information about Primary Sources

American Memory -
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Comprised of transcripts of 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states and compiled by the Library of Congress. The collection and the index are now searchable online.

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections -
The NUCMC is a free of charge cooperative cataloging program funded by the Library of Congress.

New York Public Library Digital -
NYPL Digital is a gateway to NYPL unique and rare collections in digitized format. Digitized content has been drawn from a broad range of original historical resources and all historical media are presented as specific, original artifacts, without further enhancement to their appearance or quality, as a record of the era in which they were produced.

Repositories of Primary Sources -
Maintained by the University of Idaho, Special Collections & Archives it contains a listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

Historical Records Repositories in Maine
This directory indicates the name, address and contact information for over 140 historical societies, museums, libraries and other organizations holding historical records.

Women & Social Movements in the United States 1600 - 2000

A collection of documentary projects pertaining to women and social movements in the United States. Primary source materials include books, images, manuscripts, journal articles, pamphlets, letters, commentaries and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageCasandra Fitzherbert
Contact Info:
Casandra Fitzherbert
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
Portland, Maine 04103
207.780.4279
Send Email

Subjects:
American & New England Studies, English, Computer Science, Mathematics & Statistics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait