Why use a reference book?
Reference sources are invaluable for defining key concepts, providing brief overviews of a subject, and identifying major theories and research developments. They can provide you with the background you need to select and develop a topic of research, or help you explore internship or career opportunities.
Reference Sources
Common terminology, abbreviations and symbols for therapeutic recreation and other activity therapies : a glossary and workbook
POR Reference RM736.7 .J493 2002
Supplements a standard glossary with a listing of clinical abbreviations and symbols.
Dictionary of Concepts in Recreation and Leisure
POR Reference GV11 S57
Each of the nearly 100 entries defines a term and explains its significance within the discipline.
Dictionary of the Sport and Exercise Sciences
POR Reference GV558 .D53
Brief definitions and useful cross references.
Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation
POR/GOR Reference HV1568 .E53
150 entries cover standard and newly diagnosed conditions and include
descriptions of rehabilitation processes and medically approved
therapies.
Encyclopedia of Elder Care
POR Reference RC954 .E53
Provides information on conditions and issues related to aging.
Encyclopedia of recreation and leisure in America
POR Reference GV53 .E53 2004
172 brief (1-3 pages) articles give social and historical context for
recreational activities ranging from auto racing to zoos.
Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present
GOR Reference GV567.E56
250 entries chronicle the history and societal impact of sports from around the world.
Glossary of recreation therapy and occupational therapy
POR Reference RM736.7 .A97 2001
Definitions include terminology related to disabilities as well as therapy.
Internships in recreation and leisure services : a practical guide for students
POR Reference GV14.5 .S43 2002
Offers
tips for assessing one's own skills and goals as well as researching
potential internship agencies, presenting oneself through resumes,
cover letters, and interviews, and planning for the internship. Several
useful appendices include national associations and websites with
employment and internship information.
Opportunities in recreation and leisure careers
POR Reference GV160 .J45 2000
Lists types of positions in the field, helpful associations, and suggestions for job seekers.
World Sport Psychology Sourcebook
POR Reference GV706.4 S25
Profiles the state of sports psychology in 61 countries and provides contact information for 1,800 professionals in the field.
Subject Librarian |
Pat PrietoGlickman Library
University of Southern Maine
207.780.5662
Send Email
Subjects:
Criminology, ESL, Honors Program, Linguistics, Nursing, Recreation & Leisure Studies, Social Work, Sociology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait