Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Sociology 

USM Sociology Subject Guide
Last update: Sep 30th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Indexes and Databases            Print Page
  
 

Article Linker

Use Article Linker to find needed articles

  • Click Finding Full Text Faster adjacent to database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
  • If article not available online or in print, click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
  • If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
  • You will receive a link to the article by e-mail in 3-5 working days.
  • Please do not use interlibrary loan to request articles from print journals that the library already owns, unless they are located at another USM campus from the one where you are based.


For detailed Finding Full Text Faster instructions, review the Linker Tutorial.

 
 

Online Indexes and Databases

These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications. Once you have found your citations, consult Finding Articles at USM for detailed instructions on locating full text articles online and in print journals.

Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Comprehensive and international in scope.

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journals in the disciplines of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

Social Services Abstracts
Focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, human development and related areas including social welfare, social policy, and community development since 1980.

Social Work Abstracts
Indexes articles and dissertations on social work, social welfare, and related fields.

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications of which 3,100 are peer reviewed. Academic areas of study include: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

PsycInfo
Indexes the professional and academic literature (journals, books and book chapters) in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations.

ERIC
Primary index for the field of education

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides indexing and some full text of media and communication studies journals.

Women's Studies International
Index to the interdisciplinary field of women's studies, this database covers material in the fields of arts and humanities, business, economics, education, history, international relations, political science, public policy, and sociology. Covers from 1972 forward, and includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImagePat Prieto
Contact Info:
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
207.780.5662
Send Email

Subjects:
Criminology, ESL, Honors Program, Linguistics, Nursing, Recreation & Leisure Studies, Social Work, Sociology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait