Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Linguistics 

USM Linguistics Study Guide
Last update: Sep 14th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/linguistics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Indexes and Databases            Print Page
  
 

Article Linker

Use Article Linker to find needed articles

  • Click Finding Full Text Faster adjacent to database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
  • If article not available online or in print, click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
  • If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
  • You will receive a link to the article by e-mail in 3-5 working days.
  • Please do not use interlibrary loan to request articles from print journals that the library already owns, unless they are located at another USM campus from the one where you are based.


For detailed Finding Full Text Faster instructions, review the Linker Tutorial.

 
 

Online Indexes and Databases

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Linguistics, several different databases may be useful for a given assignment. The following are some of the databases available at USM, with their strongest emphases noted.

These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications. Once you have found your citations, consult Finding Articles at USM for detailed instructions on locating full text articles online and in print journals.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
CSA LLBA abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Communication and Mass Media Complete
In addition to indexing more than a hundred linguistics-related journals, this database provides full text access to American Annals of the Deaf, Annual Review of Language Acquisition, Australian Journal of Linguistics, Cognitive Linguistics, Journal of Applied Linguistics, Journal of Psycholinguistic Research and several others.

ERIC
An education database, ERIC has strong coverage of topics such as bilingualism, language policy, and first and second language acquisition. Full text available for some ERIC documents (not journal articles).

IngentaConnect
A multi-subject index to the tables of contents of over 20,000 English language periodicals; can be useful for obscure topics because of its comprehensiveness.

MLA Bibliography
MLA Bibliography's strengths include topics relating to grammar and syntax, discourse analysis, and comparative linguistics.

MEDLINE
Index to more than 3,600 journals covering all areas of clinical and experimental medicine. Recommended for topics related to speech disorders, audiology, and cognition.

PsycINFO
PsycInfo indexes and abstracts the literature in psychology and related disciplines.

Sociological Abstracts
Recommended for sociolinguistic topics such as gender, age, and class variations in language use.

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImagePat Prieto
Contact Info:
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
207.780.5662
Send Email

Subjects:
Criminology, ESL, Honors Program, Linguistics, Nursing, Recreation & Leisure Studies, Social Work, Sociology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait