.... and answers from Pat
Q Can you access the resources and
journals from home?
A You
can access any of the databases that have the “remote access” icon next to
their names, though you will need to log in with your last name and barcode. Most of the journals that we have online can
be accessed at home as well. Call us
(780-4272
Q What are the hours of the library on
the weekend?
A This
semester, the libraries are open in both
Q What is the best search engine to use?
A If
you mean which of the library databases is best, I’d say that for this class
probably Social Work Abstracts or Social Services Abstracts are the most useful,
though I also included Maine Newsstand on your course guide in case you want to
look up information about local organizations, which is not likely to show up
in the scholarly journals indexed by Social Work Abstracts or Social Services
Abstracts.
If
you mean which of the search engines for searching the “open web” is best,
that’s a matter of personal preference.
Personally I use Google, but I think the most important thing is
probably getting to know a search engine well enough to make good use of its
features.
Q Which floor should I go to in order to
study or do homework?
A A
lot of people really enjoy the Great Reading Room on the 7th floor,
which has a Quiet policy, and I personally like the
The
second and third floors tend to be a bit noisier than the upper floors because
of the number of computers and the amount of patron-staff interaction.
Q Do we have to pay to print? If so, how much? Do the computer labs close before the library
does?
A Printing
all over campus is 4 cents per page, debited from your USM Card. (More about
that at http://www.usm.maine.edu/usmcard/funds.htm
).
Q How can I make sure I’ve used enough
sources to get the most accurate information?
A Tough
question, and one I don’t think I can answer completely. But a few considerations would be: Is your
information current? Are the
authors/journals/publishers authoritative? Are you missing major theorists or
works that you should have consulted? (your professor can possibly give you an
idea, or you can consult an overview article in a subject encyclopedia or other
reference to find out what the “seminal” works on the subject are).
Q Can the librarian help me with APA
formatting?
A Yes,
but mostly by directing you to sources that can help, such as the Publication
Manual of the American Psychological Association, http://citationmachine.net/ , and features in some of the databases that
format your
citations for you.
Q Is there help if you need someone to
proofread your paper before you turn it in?
A The
library doesn’t really provide these services, but there is help available on
campus. According to the Learning
Foundations website at http://www.usm.maine.edu/lap/portland.htm , “writing tutors will help you at any
point in the writing process, from brainstorming to final editing.” In
Q When is the best time to come in? Should I call and make an appointment?
A This
semester, Portland Reference is open 8 a.m-11 pm Monday-Thursday, 8-8 Friday-Saturday, and 2-10 pm on Sundays, so
someone should be able to give you brief/basic help in person, by phone, or via
chat (click on the Ask-a-Librarian button on our web pages) during those
times.
If
you feel like you need more extended help or want to make sure that I’ll be
available, it’s a good idea to call or email me to make an appointment.
Q How do I access online journals
outside the library?
A If
you already have a specific journal in mind, you can click the “journals”
button on the USM Libraries homepage (http://library.usm.maine.edu/
). This will take you to a page where
you can search for online journals by their titles to see which issues we have.
Q If I get a lot of the same articles in
different databases, is there a way to find more articles instead of the same
ones over and over?
A There
are a couple of things you can try:
Look
at the official subject terms for one of the useful articles you’ve found; if
one of them is a synonym or quasi-synonym of the term you’ve been using, try searching
it instead. [The official subject terms may be labeled descriptors, subject, or subject
headings.]
Take
out phrases with prepositions in them – instead of “women’s
satisfaction with their marriages”, try “marital satisfaction AND women”
or “marriage AND satisfaction AND women”.
If
you try these things and keep seeing the same citations, it usually means that
either: a) there isn’t much written on your topic, and you’ve been thorough
enough to turn everything up, or b) your search is too narrow (you’ve looked
for information from Portland Maine when you’ll be lucky to find information
from Maine at all) or has some other kind of “fatal flaw” (you’ve misspelled
one of your key concepts so the only citations you’re finding are ones in which
it’s also misspelled). Call us.
Q What is the time frame for
Interlibrary sharing?
A There
are three categories of Interlibrary sharing for books: If you find a book in URSUS or in MaineCat
and request it that way, it should be here in less than a week. If you have to make an ILLiad request for a
book outside
Q If books are sent to me on
Interlibrary Loan, where can they be picked up?
A At
the circulation desk of whichever library you specified when you ordered them
(first floor in both
Q How can I get articles that are peer
reviewed but available online?
A Most
of the Ebsco databases - including Academic Search Premier, ERIC, PsycInfo,
Family Studies Abstracts and CINAHL – have both “full text” and “peer reviewed”
as limit features, so if you select both you can retrieve online peer-reviewed
articles. Or use Social Services
Abstracts, click the “peer reviewed” tab after submitting your search, and then
use the Article Linker button to check for availability. The journals in Social Work Abstracts and
Sage Online are also scholarly, and most are peer reviewed.
Q Where is microfilm in the library and
can it be accessed on the web?
A It
is on the third floor in Glickman, first floor in Gorham, and can only be
accessed in the libraries.
Q Where is the best physical place in
the library to access the kind of literature we will need for this class?
A In
Glickman, you’ll find periodicals on the third floor, most of the books you’ll
be using on the fifth floor, and Reference on the second floor.
Q I just need to be refreshed on
Academic Search Premier.
A There
is an Ebsco tutorial available at http://support.epnet.com/training/flash_videos/basicSearchingAcademic.html
that might be helpful.
Q
I’m not sure if I have a
library card; is there a replacement?
A Your
USM card is your library card; your library barcode is the red number that
begins 25022. If you need a new USM
card, you’ll have to go to the card office in the basement of Payson Smith.
Subject Librarian |
Pat PrietoGlickman Library
University of Southern Maine
207.780.5662
Send Email
Subjects:
Criminology, ESL, Honors Program, Linguistics, Nursing, Recreation & Leisure Studies, Social Work, Sociology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait