Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

SWO 201 - Introduction to Social Work 

Last update: Mar 25th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/swo201  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Sources            Print Page
  
 

Dictionaries

Subject-oriented dictionaries provide definitions of terms or phrases unique to the field.

Social Work Dictionary
POR Ref. HV12.B37 1999

Dictionary of Gerontology
POR Ref. HQ1061.H338 1988

 

Statistics

Statistical sources help support and quantify your arguments.

Social Work Almanac
POR Ref. HV90.G53

Statistical Handbook on the American Family
POR Ref. HQ536.S727 1999

Kids Count Data Book
POR/GOR Ref. HQ792.U5K53

Maine Kids Count
POR Ref. HQ792.U5M2

Trends in the Well-Being of America's Children
POR Ref. HQ792.U5T7

See the Internet Resources section for more statistical sources.

 
 

Encyclopedias

Use subject encyclopedias as a place to begin your research. Usually written by experts and scholars in the field, the articles provide a solid overview and bibliography; history, current state, policy issues and theories also may be discussed.

Comprehensive handbook of social work and social welfare
Por Reference HV40.C635 2008

Encyclopedia of Social Work

Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation
POR/GOR Ref. HV1568.E53 1995

Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence
POR Ref. HQ 772.G27 1998

Aging: demographics, health, and health services
POR Ref .RA564.8 .V54 2003

Encyclopedia of Aging
POR/GOR Ref. HQ1061.E53 1995

American Homelessness
POR Ref. HV4505.H647 1994

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior
POR Ref. HV5804.E53 2001

Gay Histories and Cultures
POR Ref. HQ75.13.G37 2000

Lesbian Histories and Cultures
POR Ref. HQ75.5.L4395 2000

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImagePat Prieto
Contact Info:
Glickman Library
University of Southern Maine
207.780.5662
Send Email

Subjects:
Criminology, ESL, Honors Program, Linguistics, Nursing, Recreation & Leisure Studies, Social Work, Sociology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait