Introduction
The purpose of this course guide is to provide research materials to students searching for environmental impact statements and other governmental and technical reports. This type of information is most readily available in more specialized research resources than books and journal articles. Also, students should note that, also there is crossover, environmental impact information will be separated from other general governmental and technical reports when possible.
Tutorials
Tutorials Page
(Note many tutorials are not from USM. Contact the USM Reference Desks not the other institution's librarians.)
New User's Page
A few useful links you should know about!
Your Responsibilities
- USM's Academic Integrity Policy
If you have questions about plagiarism, Please talk to your professor and refer to USM's policy above. - Plagiarism
A University of Indiana description
Getting Started
Council on Environmental Quality
Council mediates environmental issues and assessment concerns between
agencies. This Whitehouse site provides access to recent annual freedom
of information reports, NEPAnet and its Council of Environmental
Quality procedural reports, as well as federal departments and agencies.
Environmental Assessment Association
Homepage of association features information about joining and being a
member of the association, as well as workable online assessment forms,
documents and courses offered for a fee, news, contact information and
recent issues of Environmental Times.
International Association for Impact Assessment
Site contains publication and contact information as well as listservs,
an information exchange, and other professional information. This
organization also invites environmental teachers and their students to
join IAIA and become active in the assessment dialogue.
National Association of Environmental Professionals
Website of the Association provides information useful to
“Environmental Professionals” including upcoming events and
conferences, membership, association listserv, articles, useful links,
etc.
The Environmental Impact Statement is a specific legal document made necessary by the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (NEPA). (Rob Sanford)
The University of Maine system (Ex. Orono and USM) has EIS reports in the form of Government Documents, searchable in the URSUS catalog. Also the Department of Environmental Science and Policy at USM has some EIS reports onsite.
How to Search for Environmental Impact Statements (EIS)
The Transportation Library at Northwestern Univ. includes a collection
of Environmental Impact Statements, drafts and subsequent findings and
reports from 1969 to the present.
Obtaining copies of Environmental Impact Statements
Includes procedures for obtaining EIS listings, comments by the EPA,
contacts, and whole items via interlibrary loan. Some procedures may
incur cost.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation
Gor Reference GE 10 .E49 1998
Encyclopedia devoted to remediation of environmental problems including
air, water and biosphere pollution. Work also includes detailed
procedures for conducting environmental analysis and impact statements.
Other Sources
Government and Technical Reports
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Search topically (Ex. air pollution) first, then look through links for reports
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Use either the Site Map link or the pull down menu (Ex. Coasts) first, then look through links for reports
National Council for Science and the Environment (Congressional Research Service Reports)
Very broad topical coverage. Use either Quick Search or Advanced Search.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI)
Use either the pull down menu with keyword or use the list of sources on the left-hand side.
US Department of the Interior
US General Accountibility Office
Use pull down menus at top. Search GAO Reports > Then input keyword or report number.
Maine Department of
Environmental Protection
Vermont Agency of Natural Resources
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection
Your Librarian |
Tim LynchThe Commons@Gorham Library
(207) 780-5156 Office
(207) 780-5344 Info Desk
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography/Anthropology, Geosciences, Human Resource Development, Technology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait