Adult Education HRD 604 Self-Directed Learning 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Human Resource Development 

This Subject Guide was designed for Human Resource Development. This guide is selective so if you need more information please contact Tim Lynch and/or your instructor
Last update: Feb 26th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/content.php?pid=7327  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Introduction

Human Resource Development encompasses the disciplines of Human Growth and Development at the undergraduate level and Adult Education, Counseling and School Psychology at the graduate level.

 
 

Important Print works

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Adult Development
LEW Reference BF 724.5 .E53 1993

Encyclopedia of Aging
POR Reference HQ 1061 .E534 2002

Encyclopedia of Disability
GOR Reference HV 1568 .E528 2006

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership
GOR Reference LB 2805 .E527 2006 [2 vols]

Encyclopedia of Human Behavior
POR and LEW Reference BF 31 .E5 1994 [4 vols]

Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family (1995)
GOR Reference HQ 9 .E52 1995

Encyclopedia of Psychology (APA)
GOR and POR Reference BF 31 .E52 2000 [8 vols]

Encyclopedia of Special Education
GOR Reference LC4007 .E53 2007 [3 vols]

Corsini Encyclopedia Of Psychology And Behavioral Science
POR Reference BF31 .E52 2001 [4 vols]

Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence
GOR and POR Reference HQ 772 .G27 1998

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
POR Reference HQ9 .E52 2003 [4 vols]

Maine School Law
GOR Reference KF 4119 .Z99 M24 2006

Praeger Handbook of Learning and the Brain
GOR Reference LB 1060 .P683 2006 [2 vols]

Sage Handbook for Research in Education
GOR Reference LB 1028 .S14 2006

Youth Education and Sexualities
GOR Reference LC 192.6 .Y68 2005 [2 vols]

 

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Psychology
POR and GOR Reference BF 31 .C72 1999

DSM-IV (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th TR) (2000)
GOR and POR and LEW Ref RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2000

DSM-IV-In Action
GOR Stacks RC455.2 .C4 D9 2002

DSM-IV-TR mental disorders : diagnosis, etiology, and treatment
POR Ref RC455.2.C4 D76 2004

 

Statistical Sources

Digest of Educational Statistics (annual)
GOR Reference L 111 .A6
The major statistical publication of the U.S. Dept. of Education also available online at http://nces.ed.gov/pubs/digest97/index.html

The Condition of Education (annual)
GOR Reference L 112 .A64
Another significant statistical publication of the U.S. Dept. Of Education
also available online at http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/pubsinfo.asp?pubid=2004077

State Indicators in Education (annual)
GOR Reference LB 2846 .S73 1997
Comparative rankings of all the states
also available online at http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/pubsinfo.asp?pubid=97376

Youth Indicators: Trends in the Well-Being of American Youth
Available at http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/pubsinfo.asp?pubid=2005050

Kids Count Data Book: State Profiles of Child Well-Being (annual)
Available at http://www.kidscount.org/sld/databook.jsp

 

Maine Statistics

Performance Report on Maine’s Public Schools (annual)
GOR Stacks LA 298 .M334
Extensive interpretive narrative accompanies statistical reporting

Maine Kids Count Data Book
Ref HQ 792 .U5M2 1998
Current and archived also available at http://www.mekids.org/am/publish/cat_index_2.shtml

 

Laws And Court Cases

Yearbook of Education Law (annual print and online)
GOR Reference KF 4102.5 .Y4
Cases nationwide on all aspects of education

Answer Book on Special Education Law
GOR Refreence KF 4209.3 .Z9G67 2005
Question and answer approach to understanding legal requirements in schools

Digest of Supreme Court Decisions Affecting Education
GOR Stacks Kf 4114 .Z57
Special Education Law (updated every two months) - CD-ROM workstation
Electronic version of full text of court cases, laws, regulations, etc.

 

Maine Law

Maine Revised Statutes Annotated (annually updated)
Ref KFM 30 .A2
All current Maine laws. Also available at http://janus.state.me.us/legis/statutes/

 

Spiritual Development Sources

Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development
GOR Reference BV 4571.3 .E53 2006

Handbook of Spiritual Development in Childhood and Adolescence
GOR Reference BV 4571.3 .H36 2005

 

Testing

Mental Measurements Yearbook (series from 1938-2005) Series to Present also available ONLINE
GOR and POR and LEW Reference Z5814 .P8 B932 [to volume 16]

Tests in Print I- VII Series to Present also available ONLINE
GOR Reference Z 5814 .E9 T47 2006

 

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageTim Lynch
Contact Info:
The Commons@Gorham Library
(207) 780-5156 Office
(207) 780-5344 Info Desk
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography/Anthropology, Geosciences, Human Resource Development, Technology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait