Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Public Policy 

This guide is designed to provide access to a host of resources concerning the field of Public Policy. Resources provided by USM Libraries are supplemented by Web sources.
Last update: Apr 22nd, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/publicpolicy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

Organizations

American Political Science Association

International Political Science Association

 

Web Subject Guides

Librarian's Internet Index

RefDesk.com

Virtual Reference Shelf

USA.gov

 
 

Websites

Public Policy Organizations

The Brookings Institution - One of Washington's oldest think tanks, Brookings conducts research and education in the social sciences, particularly in economics, metropolitan, government, global development and foreign policy. (Wikipedia)

The Carter Center - The Carter Center is a nongovernmental, not-for-profit organization founded in 1982 by former U.S. President Jimmy Carter and his wife Rosalynn Carter. In partnership with Emory University, The Carter Center works to advance human rights and alleviate human suffering. (Wikipedia)

Public Policy Institute of California - An independent, nonpartisan, non-profit research institution. (Wikipedia)

Goldman School of Public Policy - University of California-Berkeley

Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy - University of Michigan

General Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - The lead Federal agency chargfed with improving the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of helath care for all Americans.

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry - Provides health information and takes public health actions to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.

Ageline (AARP) - Summaries of publications about older adults and aging, including books, journal and magazine articles, research reports, dissertations, and videos. 1978 to the present

AIDSinfo - Resource for current information on federally and privately funded clinical trials for AIDS patients and HIV-infected persons, federally approved HIV treatment and prevention guidelines, and medical practice guidelines.

American Presidency Project - Documents related to the study of the American Presidency, including public papers, annual messages to Congress, inaugural addresses, radio addresses, acceptance speeches, presidential candidates debates, party platforms, elections data, and an audio/video archive.

AmfAR: AIDS Research - One of the world's leading nonprofit organizations dedicated to the support of AIDS research, HIV prevention, treatment education, and the advocacy of sound AIDS-related public public policy.

Cancer.gov - A metasite for cancer information for health care professionals as well as patients.

Center for American Women and Politics - This Center is affiliated with the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers University and includes facts and findings regarding women in politics.

Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care - Describes and illustrates quality, cost, and delivery of healthcare services in the U.S. and geographic variations in practice patterns, with description of the physician workforce and distribution of resources.

GlobalHealth.gov - Provides access to information about major global health topics, such as avian influenza, HIV/AIDS, malaria, etc. and links to partner organizations.

GPO Access - Produced by the U. S. Government Printing Office, this is an excellent source for government information including legislative, judicial and executive resources.

HealthMap: Global Disease Alert Map - Brings together disparate data sources to acheive a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health.

House & Senate Bills and Resolutions - Bills and resolutions for selected sessions of Congress, beginning with the 6th Congress (1799) in the House of Representatives, the 16th Congress (1819) in the Senate, and the 18th Congress (1823) for Senate Joint Resolutions.

Indian Health Service: the federal health program for American Indians and Alaska Natives - Resources and links to American Indian sites, nationwide programs, information about IHS headquarters and area offices, press releases, reports, fact sheets, health care delivery to members of federally recognized tribes, and other information.

John F. Kennedy School of Government Working Papers (Harvard) - Searching is available by topic, year, or faculty member.

Kaiser Family Foundation - The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is an independent philanthropy focusing on major health care issues.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data - Provides downloadable access to over 550 criminal justice data collections free of charge.

National Women's Health Information Center - A federal government resourse for women's health information.

Pan American Health Organization - WHO's regional office for the Americas, an international public health agency with the mission to improve health and living standards for the countries of the Americas.

Political Science Resources on the Web - From the University of Michigan Documents Center.

State Legislative History Research Guides on the Web - Compilation of online legislative history research guides for most of the 50 states.

State & Local Government on the Net - Links to state governments, regional commissions, nongovernmental organizations.

Statistical Abstract of the United States - Includes area election and state, local and federal government statistical data.

ThisNation: The American Government and Politics Portal - Compiled by Political Scientist, Jonathon Mott, this award-winning site contains a library of documents and publications, glossary, news sources, and a search engine for the site.

Who's Who in the Federal Government
Biographies of Federal officials, judiciary, members of Congress past and present.

Working Paper Sites of Political Science
Provides links to the full-text of working papers on a variety of topics.

International Resources

Canadian International Council - Of special interest is access to news, publications, and related links.

Europa (European Union) - Portal of the European Union.

Foreign Government Resource on the Web - Compiled by the University of Michigan.

Frequently Used Sites Related to U. S. Federal Government Information: Foreign Countries/Comparative Politics
Compiled by members of American Library Association's Government Documents Round Table, this guide provides access to Web sites related to publications, indexes and directories, agencies, research centers, statistics, elections, political parties, governments, etc.

Governments on the WWW - Contains links to governments and governmental bodies.

International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance - This intergovernmental organization provides in-depth international information on political participation, electoral processes, political parties, and democracy building.

Social Science Information Gateway: Politics - Produced by the British Library of Political and Economic Science, this gateway contains links to databases, journals, books, data, educational materials, government publications, news, organizations, and papers.

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources - Provides access to more than 2,600 annotated links about international affairs, international relations, and international studies.

Elections

Frequently Used Sites Related to U. S. Federal Government Information: Elections - Compiled by members of American Library Association's Government Documents Round Table, this guide provides access to Web sites pertaining to U. S. elections.

International Foundation for Election Systems (IFES)-Democracy at Large - "As one of the world's premier democracy and governance assistance organizations, IFES provides targeted technical assistance to strengthen transitional democracies. Founded in 1987 as a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization, IFES has developed and implemented comprehensive, collaborative democracy solutions in more than 120 countries." Of special interest on this site are links to other election sites and publications.

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait