Article Linker
Use Article Linker to find needed articles
- Click
adjacent to database search results to locate an electronic or print article. - If article not available online or in print, click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
- If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
- You will receive a link to the article by e-mail in 3-5 working days.
- Please do not use interlibrary loan to request articles from print journals that the library already owns, unless they are located at another USM campus from the one where you are based.
For detailed
instructions, review the Linker Tutorial.
E-Journals
OT-related journals that are online and have full-text:
Australian Occupational Therapy Journal
Hong Kong Journal of Occupational Therapy
Journal of Occupational Science
Occupational Therapy in Health Care
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health
Occupational Therapy International
OTJR use this Customer# 0000009250021335
Physical and Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics
Physical and Occupation Therapy in Pediatrics
Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal
Scandinavian Journal of Occupational Therapy
Work: A journal of prevention, assessment, and rehabilitation
Also, click here for additional titles related to rehabilitation and OT.
Finding OT Articles
OT Search - occupational therapy database. What's in OT Search?
Contact the library for the user name/password for remote access. ArticleLinker is NOT available in this database, so use ILLIAD for articles not at LAC nor available online.
Other relevant databases:
CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature; don't forget about the Clinical Queries options (see box-->)
Education Full Text OR ERIC - education and special education
MEDLINE - clinical medicine (also available as PubMed)
PsycInfo - psychology; links to APA's PsycArticles full-text database
SportDiscus - biomechanics, physical therapy, and physiology
Academic Search Premier - full-text articles in basic academic database
HealthSource:Nursing-Academic Edition - full text journals on medical, nursing and allied health
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic - full-text database on medical topics
IngentaConnect - index to table-of-contents of journals - fulltext only for those titles that USM subscribes to
Google Scholar - use the Advanced Scholar Search and "Full Text @USM" links
What Other Students Learned
- Avoid searching Cinahl and Medline simultaneously
Terms for the same concept frequently vary between the two databases and searching them together will unintentionally limit your search.- Tip: If you select Choose Databases to switch from one index to another, first deselect box adjacent to the title that you’ve been searching to turn it off.
- Don’t limit searches to “Full Text”
By selecting this limit you will:- Miss other full text articles that are accessible from other databases and publisher’s websites through Article Linker.
- Exclude many other excellent records.
- Save your searches
It’s always a good idea to save your searches for later use. Even saving failed searches will help you remember what didn’t work. Instructions for saving are located under HELP in each database.
5. To retrieve full text from E-mailed articles follow these instructions:
- Copy and Paste this URL into your Internet browser window http://www.library.umaine.edu/auth/EZProxy/test/authej.asp?url=
- Copy the persistent link URL from your email Ebsco record.
- Paste this at the end of the URL you have already pasted into the browser.
The end result will look like two complete URLs connected by an equal sign. For example: http://www.library.umaine.edu/auth/EZProxy/test/authej.asp?url= http://search.epnet.com/loginaspx?direct=true&db=aph&an=16793723
6. Some full text articles may not always be available off campus
- There are three types of full text articles:
Those provided by the Ebsco database e.g., CINAHL/MEDLINE, and labeled HTML or PDF
Those labeled Linked Full Text may represent two scenarios:
- Articles that link to another Ebsco database that are available off campus.
- Articles at the publisher's website that may not be accessible off campus.
- Tip: Articles not available online can be ordered on interlibrary loan.
NEED HELP?
CINAHL Clinical Queries
EBSCO's CINAHL database permits users to search using Clinical Queries limits. Click here for a link to the document on this feature.
OT print journals@LAC
AJOT: American Journal of Occupational Therapy (the library does not have online access, but you do as a student member of AOTA)
AOTA Special Interest Section Quarterly issues:
-
Administration and Management
- Developmental Disabilities
- Education
- Gerontology
- Home and Community Health
- Mental Health
- Physical Disabilities
- School System
- Sensory Integration
- Technology
- Work and Industry
British Journal of Occupational Therapy
Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy
Journal of Occupational Science
Journal of Rehabilitation
OT Practice
WFOT Bulletin
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait