Environmental Entomology ESP 102K Fund Env Sci Labs ESP 110 Intro Nature Tourism ESP 401 Env Imp Assess 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Environmental Science  Tags: sustainability pollution remediation planning environment  

This Subject Guide is designed for the Environmental Science Department and related disciplines. Should you have any questions about this guide, please contact Tim Lynch or your Instructor. Thanks!!
Last update: May 26th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/content.php?pid=8794  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Introduction

This guide will cover areas of Environmental Science such as (from the catalog) Planning and Policy, Environmental Science, and Safety and Health.  If you would like to add to this guide please don't hesitate to contact Tim Lynch.

 

Background Info

Background information sources are provided for the student to look at his or her topic in a number of general souces to allow the student to become more familiar with the topic chosen, learning vocabulary terms and different aspects of the topic; as well as provide the opportunity to narrow the topic should the student find an area particularly interesting.

(Note that this guide uses internet sources thoughout, however, this guide from Berkeley may be useful in evaluating web site content http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/Evaluate.html)

 
 

Background Sources

Amazing Environmental Organization Web Directory!
General websites and contacts on a variety of environmental aspects.

Best Environmental Directories
This website is a vast collection of environmental topics with many useful links. Primarily international in scope. Caution, contains a fair number of broken links.

Bibliography of Environmental Literature
Por. Reference QH 541 .I75 1993
Somewhat exhaustive collection of environmental works compiled by the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies. Work covers all aspects of environmental science. Best used in a historical context.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Gor. Reference GE 10 .E52 2000
Very up-to-date encyclopedia of environmental concerns. Articles are signed and include suggested readings.

Environmental Issues and Sustainable Futures
Gor. Reference GE123 .M37 1996

Fogler Library Environmental Websites
Suggested web links of Jim Bird, the Librarian for the University of Maine Environmental Sciences program. See also his related research guide: Environmental Sciences.

Global Development: a Reference Handbook
Por. Reference HC 59.7 .S283 1995
Overview, resources and statistical information about the effects of economics, human development, and gender roles on our global environment over time.

Global Environment Outlook
Gor. Reference GE 170 .G563 2000

International bi-annual report that gives the current environmental state and policies of a geographic area as well as its future plans and considerations. Also an excellent source for statistics.

Global Issues
Gor. Reference GF 1 G573 (previous years in stacks)

Issued annually, this resource is a collection of articles, taken from various publications, that represents the environmental concerns of the year.

Great Events from History, Ecology and the Environment Series
Gor. Reference GE 150 .G72 1995
Timeline of the great environmental events from 1902-1994.

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageTim Lynch
Contact Info:
The Commons@Gorham Library
(207) 780-5156 Office
(207) 780-5344 Info Desk
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography/Anthropology, Geosciences, Human Resource Development, Technology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait