Environmental Entomology ESP 102K Fund Env Sci Labs ESP 110 Intro Nature Tourism ESP 401 Env Imp Assess 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Environmental Science  Tags: sustainability pollution remediation planning environment  

This Subject Guide is designed for the Environmental Science Department and related disciplines. Should you have any questions about this guide, please contact Tim Lynch or your Instructor. Thanks!!
Last update: May 26th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/content.php?pid=8794  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionaries/Handbooks/Encyclopedias             Print Page
  
 

Quick Reference

Although the heading of this box is "Quick Reference" Dictionaries, Handbooks and Encyclopedias make up an amazing collection of resources an many topics. They are very scholarly (much more so than say Britannica) because they are about one area. The information in these sources tends to be quite detailed and definitely useful to students papers!!  Always be thinking about the date of publication however as science tends to move and change quickly.

 
 

Reference Sources

Access Science
Both a database and a reference source this online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology is a vital source of information in all areas of science.

Compendium of Environmental Acronyms (CEA)
Put out by the American Association of Engineering Geologists, this website gives the proper names for Acronyms in the field. Caution, last updated in 1995.

Cooper’s Comprehensive Environmental Desk Reference
Gor. Reference GE123 .C64 1996
General reference guide that includes definitions to terms and acronyms, air pollutants, data conversion, chemicals list, EPA data, and an example of an Environmental Site Assessment.

Dictionary of Ecology and Environmental Science
Gor. Reference GE80 .G85 1993
Definitions of terms pertaining to Ecology and the Environment.

Dictionary of Natural Resource Management
Gor. Reference HC15 .D86 1996
Explanation of terms from various aspects of Environmentalism including forestry, botany, engineering, geology, ecology and sustainability.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation
Gor. Reference GE 10 .E49 1998
Encyclopedia devoted to remediation of environmental problems including air, water and biosphere pollution. Work also includes detailed procedures for conducting environmental analysis and impact statements.

Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change
Gor. Reference GE 149 .E443 2002
This work has collected the issues of environmental change into a five volume work. Each volume examines one portion of the issue: physical change, ecological change, causes, solutions, and the role human beings have in these concerns. Articles are signed and include bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
Gor Reference GC 9 .E57 2001
Six volume set that has collected the latest research from over 200 reputable scientists in the ocean sciences. Work includes signed articles and bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of the Biosphere
Gor. Reference GF 75 .B5613 1999
This eleven volume set is international in both scope and scholarship, being a product of The United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). It examines the many biomes of the Earth, with each volume presenting a different biome. Included are: "Our Living Planet, Tropical Rainforests, Savannahs, Deserts, Mediterranean Woodlands, Temperate Rainforest, Deciduous Forest, Prairies and Boreal Forests, Lakes, Islands and the Poles, Oceans and Seashores, The Biosphere Concept and Index."

Environmental Encyclopedia
Gor. Reference GE10 .E58 1998
According to its editors, this one volume encyclopedia is a collection of “topics we think are of greatest importance in understanding our environment and our relationship to it.” Its approximately 1200 pages include signed articles and suggested readings.

Environmental Guide to the Internet
Gor. Reference GE20 .B75 1998
A collection of mailing lists, newsletters and websites dealing with the environment. Work includes the websites of many agencies, organizations and programs developed around environmental topics.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Gor Reference GE 10 .E52 2000
Very up-to-date encyclopedia of environmental concerns. Articles are signed and include suggested readings.

Gale Environmental Sourcebook
Gor. Reference GE 20 G35 2nd ed. 1994
Collection of organizations, directories, consultants and other resources useful to those interested in the environment.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Gor. Reference Q 123 .M34 1989
A dictionary of terms encompassing all fields of science and technology. Includes pronunciation of terms, conversion tables, mathematical formulas, classification of living organisms, etc.

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageTim Lynch
Contact Info:
The Commons@Gorham Library
(207) 780-5156 Office
(207) 780-5344 Info Desk
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography/Anthropology, Geosciences, Human Resource Development, Technology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait