Environmental Entomology ESP 102K Fund Env Sci Labs ESP 110 Intro Nature Tourism ESP 401 Env Imp Assess 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Environmental Science  Tags: sustainability pollution remediation planning environment  

This Subject Guide is designed for the Environmental Science Department and related disciplines. Should you have any questions about this guide, please contact Tim Lynch or your Instructor. Thanks!!
Last update: May 26th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/content.php?pid=8794  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Statistics             Print Page
  
 

Stats Info

Statistics are numbers frozen in time.  Therefore they are always useful to researchers.  It is important to verify the source of statistics to make sure they are being provided by a reputable source.  It can also be useful to check different sources to see how closely different sources interpret their statistics.  If you have questions, make sure and ask a librarian or your professor!

 
 

Statistical Sources

A World Factbook
Statistical Information and maps, in abbreviated form, for just about every country on earth.

Europa World Year Book (2000)
Por. Reference JN 1 E85
Annual publication. Latest edition in Portland. Prior year in Gorham Reference. Work provides good overview of many countries including statistics on the economy, population and culture. Also includes names and addresses of various governmental agencies and other institutions.

FedStats
This site gives quick statistical data from several US governmental agencies: by state and county, and by agency.

Global Environment Outlook
Gor. Reference GE 170 .G563 2000
International bi-annual report that gives the current environmental state and policies of a geographic area as well as its future plans and considerations. Also and excellent source for statistics.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Gor. Reference HA 202 .A3 2000
Produced by the US Census Bureau, this is a basic source of all United States statistical information in the social, political and economical realms. See especially section 6 (Geography and Environment) and section 7 (Parks recreation and travel).

Statistical Record of the Environment
Gor. Reference TD180 .S73 1995
According to the editors, statistics in this useful source, covering all aspects the environment, were taken from federal and state publications and well as the environmental literature. Many tables show values over time.

Statistical Universe (electronic database)
According to Mariner, this database is a “searchable index to over 100,000 United States government and privately published statistical sources, also include[ing] searchable, full-text access to the Statistical Abstract of the United States.” Users can search by tables or abstracts of publications. Links to other government statistical websites are also available.

Statistical Yearbook (UNESCO)
Por Reference AZ 361 U45 1999
Annual international statistical data tables on population, education, science and technology and more.

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageTim Lynch
Contact Info:
The Commons@Gorham Library
(207) 780-5156 Office
(207) 780-5344 Info Desk
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography/Anthropology, Geosciences, Human Resource Development, Technology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait