Local Resources
Assessment of the Quality of Maine Environment
Por. Reference GE 185.M2 A77 1998
28 pages of basic informational statements that include graphs, tables and statistics.
Annual Report on Air Quality
Por. Reference TD 883.5 M2 M34a
This Maine DEP work compiles very detailed statistics of air quality
for a region or county. Arranged primarily by toxin or problem. Work
includes an “additional information” section siting websites
recommended by the Maine DEP.
Atlas of Essential Wildlife Habitats for Maine’s Endangered and Threatened Species
Gor. Reference QL84.22 .M2A8 2000
Collection of maps showing endangered and threatened species habitat.
Work delineates Territory for the Piping Plover, Bald Eagle and Roseate
Tern only, although all endangered and threatened species are listed in
the appendix. Work also advises that full-size map representations are
available in respective municipalities.
Environmental Resources of Maine
Gor. Reference TD171.3.M2 E69 1993
A directory of contact information about various aspects of the environment in Maine.
Guide to Maine’s Major Natural Resource and Environmental Laws
Gor. Reference KFM 354 .G8 1995
Produced by the Maine Legislature’s Office of Policy and Legal Analysis
this work explains how Maine’s Environmental laws are interpreted with
federal environmental laws. Arranged by subject.
Gulf-Links: a Resource Guide to Coastal Organizations in the Gulf of Maine Region
Gor. Reference GC 512.M3 G83 1991
Directory of organizations, museums, aquariums, state and federal agencies and parks in the Gulf of Maine region.
Maine Department of Environmental Protection
Site includes air, land, waste and water concerns for the state of
Maine. Also includes press releases, publications, GIS and contact
information.
Maine Environmental Policy Institute
The Maine Environmental Policy Institute is a news service, which collects Maine-related environmental news. (Travis Wagner)
Maine Revised Statutes
The revised statues of Maine online arranged by topic and number. Also
available in Gorham Campus Library Reference KFM30 .A2 1964 2000 and
the Law Library KFM30 1964 A24.
Maine Rivers Bibliography and User’s Manual
Gor. Reference GB 1225 .M2 M25 Manual (1976)
Item includes microfiche of bibliography arranged by keyword, citation,
and author. Work is a bibliography and user’s manual for literature
pertaining to the Maine river system and surrounding areas.
Maine Rivers Study
Gor. Reference GB 1225 .M2 M356 1982
This work breaks down the significant rivers in the state of Maine
showing: fishing, boating, scenic areas, geological and other concerns.
Maine Waste Management 20 years of progress
Gor. Reference TD788.4.M2 S85 1995
Work gives highlights of waste management including local efforts and
successes. Recycling, composting and landfill, etc. are noted.
Maine Water Index 1968-1987
Gor. Reference TD 224 M2 M356 1988
This work is an index of literature on water resources, in the state of Maine, organized by author and subject.
Municipal Recycling Program in Maine
Gor Reference TD 788.4 .M2 M8 1995
This is a directory of contact information for waste recycling in Maine.
State and Local Environmental Assessment in NON EIS States (Including Maine)
Environmental Impact Statements are legal documents of all federal and
some states’ lands. But in approximately ½ of the states in the United
States, State, Local or municipal Environmental Assessments take the
form of permits and applications for permits for projects in that
municipality or state. The Code Enforcement Officer of the locality
will have those permits and/or applications on record. For state
applications and permits, call the Department of Environmental
Protection for that state. The DEP for a state may also have written a
report to describe a contaminated or otherwise problematic site.
State of Maine Handbook for Hazardous Waste
Gor. Reference TD 1042 .M2 S7 1995
Handbook describes criteria for determining your enterprise’s role in creating hazardous waste and what to do about it.
Vermont Agency of Natural Resources
This site includes a wide variety of environmental information
pertaining to Vermont and the nation as a whole. Publications, reports,
and EPA sites on specific topics are especially useful.
Taking the Pulse of Maine’s Environment
Gor. Reference TD 224.M2 T3 1991
A bibliography and other general information about water resources in Maine.
Your Librarian |
Tim LynchThe Commons@Gorham Library
(207) 780-5156 Office
(207) 780-5344 Info Desk
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography/Anthropology, Geosciences, Human Resource Development, Technology
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait