Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Natural and Applied Sciences  Tags: lewiston  

Designed to support the USM LAC Natural and Applied Sciences degree, it also links to other guides used at Portland-Gorham.
Last update: Sep 19th, 2009 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/NAS  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research             Print Page
  
 

E-Journals

Science-related journals that are online and have full-text:

USM E-Journals in Earth and Environmental Sciences

USM E-journals in Health and Biological Sciences

If you already know the title of the journal you want to view online, you can go directly to it by clicking on Find Journals By Title link on the library homepage.  Just put the journal title in the second box, "Search the library's E-Journal collection".

 

Article Linker

Use Article Linker to find needed articles

  • Click Finding Full Text Faster adjacent to database search results to locate an electronic or print article.
  • If article not available online or in print, click Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request to request a copy.
  • If you are not a registered user, click First Time User and complete the form.
  • You will receive a link to the article by e-mail in 3-5 working days.
  • Please do not use interlibrary loan to request articles from print journals that the library already owns, unless they are located at another USM campus from the one where you are based.


For detailed Finding Full Text Faster instructions, review the Linker Tutorial.

 
 

Database Tutorials

To get the most out of the science databases, consider reviewing the tutorials at:

ISI Web of Knowledge / Web of Science / Biosis Previews

National Library of Medicine - PubMed

USM's list of database-specific tutorials

 

Highly recommended resources

Library Databases for research on health and illness: 

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
CINAHL
HealthSource: Nursing/Academic Edition
Medline
PsycINFO
POPline: POPulation Information OnLine
PubMed 
ScienceDirect - click SEARCH to find articles
Science Citation Index, Expanded (Web of Science)
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)

Library Databases for research on environmental issues:

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts
BIOSIS Previews (Web of Knowledge)
Environment Complete
MEMAP: Maine Environmental Monitoring and Assessment Program Index
National Sea Grant Library Database
National Technical Information Service Technical Reports
PAIS International: Public Affairs Information Service
PEARL:Public Education Access to Environmental Information in Maine
Science Citation Index, Expanded (Web of Science)
ScienceDirect - click SEARCH to find articles
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide

USM Environmental Science subject guide:
Tim Lynch's guide designed for USM's Environmental Science department provides links and lists of resources for background, government, statistical, and regional information.  Definitely your best place to start!

Websites/Portals:
MEDLINEplus.gov - Health Information from the National Library of Medicine (user-friendly)

Science.gov - includes Environment & Environmental Quality, Biology and Nature, Natural Resources & Conservation, and Health topics

 
 

Ask A Librarian


 

Reference Resources for background info

AccessScience is the online version of the McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.

Britannica Online is the web version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

CREDO Reference is a collection of 393+ reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, etc.). 

Gale Virtual Reference Library includes the 3rd ed. of the Gale Encyclopedia of Science.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait