This is the "Home" page of the "Reference Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reference Sources  

Online and print encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical sources,biographies, almanacs and more are provided in this guide.
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2014 URL: http://usm.maine.libguides.com/reference Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Reference Collections

These collections of encyclopedias, dictionaries and more can be searched for a wide variety of information.

 

Sources of Background Information

Reference books, such as encyclopedias, are useful for fiinding the background information needed to support further searching. Available both in print and online, USM Libraries provides a collection for respected sources that far exceed what you might find in Google or Wikipedia. Authored by experts, these sources guarantee accuracy and provide a dizzying range of facts, statistics, biographies, and more within any discipline.

Please use the tabs above to locate online or print sources. If you don't find the information you need,  Ask A Librarian.

For reference materials within certain disciplines please consult the
Background Information tabs of our Subject Guides.

 

Selected Books

Cover Art
Roget's 21st Century Thesaurus - Barbara Ann Kipfer; The Princeton Language Institute (Editor); Philip Lief Group (Produced by)
Call Number: PE1591 .K54 2005 (Portland Reference)
ISBN: 0385338953
Publication Date: 2005-06-14
Combining scholarly authority with a new awareness of today’s communication demands,Roget’s 21st Century Thesaurusis the simple, reliable way to find the perfect word for your needs. It features an easy-to-use dictionary format plus a revolutionary Concept Index that arranges words by idea, thus enhancing the user’s process of association and leading to scores of additional selections.

Cover Art
A Writer's Reference - Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers
Call Number: PE1408 .H2778 2011 (Portland Reference)
ISBN: 0312601433
Publication Date: 2010-10-25
A Writer's Reference, the most widely adopted handbook in the United States, continues to be groundbreaking in its simplicity, offering the right content in an accessible format.

Cover Art
A Pocket Style Manual with 2009 MLA and 2010 APA Updates - Diana Hacker
Call Number: PE1408 .H26 2010 (Gorham Reference)
ISBN: 031266480X
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
A Pocket Style Manual continues to help student writers get answers to their writing and research questions. Its concise and straightforward content is flexible enough to suit the needs of writers in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, health professions, business courses, fine arts, teacher training courses, and beyond.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip