Skip to main content

RefWorks: Home

Migration to New Refworks

If you don't already have a Legacy Refworks account, click here  to create a New Refworks account.

Please note: USM will be migrating to a new version of RefWorks over the coming year.  "Soft" migration will be available in mid-January 2017; the "Legacy" RefWorks platform will be available until January 2018.  For more information, see the New RefWorks Libguide , or Ask a Librarian.

What is Refworks?

RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool that helps you share and organize citations as well as quickly generate bibliographies and insert citations into papers.

If you've got an ongoing interest that you want to keep up with, even just for one semester, RefWorks can streamline your workflow by keeping all your references together, then letting you generate bibliographies from the citations you select.  Publication information can be input manually or imported from many of the library databases. 

If you would like help figuring out whether it is possible to export to Refworks from a database not listed here, don't hesitate to ask!

Getting started with RefWorks

RefWorks

RefWorks is licensed by University of Southern Maine for use by its students, faculty, and staff.  To use RefWorks you will need to register for a personal account, which you can do here.

Once you have created your account, it is easy to move references from most of the USM Libraries' bibliographic databases into your personal RefWorks database through a process called Direct Export.

The exact terminology, arrangement of links, etc. will vary from one database to another, but the general procedure is to:

  1. Identify and mark/select those items you want to add to your RefWorks account.
  2. Look for some kind of link for Exporting records, specifically for doing a Direct Export to RefWorks.
  3. Followthe on-screen instructions. If you are already logged into RefWorks, the records will automatically be added to RefWorks' "Last Imported" folder. If you're not logged in, you will be prompted to do.

Please use the tabs above or the RefWorks Community Tutorials site for help.